IE431 Capstone Students Present Posters

The fall 2022 IE431 Capstone Poster Session took place recently at the Purdue Memorial Union South Ballroom.
Team 2 poses for a photo with Amazon rep and Dr. Young-Jun Son.
Team 2, consisting of Taufic Andonie, Murad El Asad, Saifallah Ghazi, Samantha Lu and Menghao Wang, took home the top award for their work with Amazon. 

Over twenty teams presented their posters to judges, which included IE faculty and representatives from industry, as part of their capstone project.  Several companies participated in the capstone program this fall, including Northstar Aerospace and Tramec Sloan, which were honored at the awards portion of the session for their ongoing support of our capstone program. 

The peer award went to Team 22, which consisted of Maria Luiza Camargo, Antonella Campos Iannacone, Alexander Clark, Eric Cockroft and Lauren Lamb.  Their work was aimed at improving the workflow of the billing process for Woodard, Emhardt, Henry, Reeves & Wagner, LLP.  Their poster can be viewed here

Third place went to Team 5 for their work with Decatur County planning for the April 2024 Total Solar Eclipse which will travel across southern Indiana. The team consisted of Alicia Stone, Dyami Davis, Andres Suarez, Ana Sanchez and Aisha Mahmud. The poster for their project can be found here.


Team 17 wears festive Santa hats, as their project involved Santa Claus, Indiana.
Team 17, donning Santa hats in honor of Santa Claus, Indiana which is in the county they worked with for their project. The team earned second place.  Members of the team were Kalei Bass, Jack Bookey, Jenna Helmen, Trent Schorsch and Ekin Vardar.  

Second place was awarded to Team 17 for their project involving the Spencer County Visitors Bureau and the planning logistics for the April 2024 TSE.  Their poster can be found here

The team that took first place worked with Amazon to reduce downtime on their SmartPac machines, which are used for packaging mailers. The team visited an Amazon fulfillment center and was provided with a defective blade that was used for their research. The team consisted of Taufic Andonie, Murad El Asad, Saifallah Ghazi, Samantha Lu, Menghao Wang.  Their full poster can be found here.

In addition to these awards, Dave Kotterman of Industrial Engineering was honored with a lifetime acheivement award for his work supporting the IE capstone program. 

Related links:

Poster Session Photo Gallery

All Fall 2022 Posters