Skip navigation

Top IE students to be honored

Photo of M. Alex Kortepeter
M. Alex Kortepeter, IE recipient of the Amelia Earhart Scholarship
Purdue University will honor some of its highest academic-achieving graduating seniors May 10-12 during commencement ceremonies, including four Purdue IEs.

Three IE students were among the 13 awarded the Charles O. McGaughey Leadership Awards:

  • Robert Davis, of Fishers, IN
  • Rushabh R. Jajodia, of Vadodara, India
  • Varun Raju, of Exton, PA

McGaughey, a 1939 Purdue graduate, established the awards to honor students for leadership potential. To be eligible for these awards, students must have completed a minimum of two years of full-time study at Purdue and achieved at least a 3.0 graduation index. Recipients are selected on the basis of their contributions to Purdue and the community. Each honoree receives $3,345 as an acknowledgement of their superior leadership abilities, scholarship and appreciation of basic American values.

And one IE student was among the five who received the Amelia Earhart Scholarship:

  • M. Alex Kortepeter, of Indianapolis, IN

This scholarship was reinstituted in 1999 after Doreen Buranich Simmons, a 1971 Purdue graduate, committed to see the scholarship return to Purdue after learning of its demise in the 1970s. Her gift became a catalyst for Joan Russell Dudding to honor the university and Amelia Earhart by funding the scholarship on an ongoing basis. The Amelia Earhart Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior with a minimum 3.2 grade point average who demonstrates leadership, determination, ability and the potential in academic and/or community activities.

Congratulations, graduates!

Source: "Top students to be recognized during 2019 commencement", Purdue News (May 6, 2019)