Skip navigation

2019 IEGSO Research Symposium

Photo of Abhishek K. Umrawal & Anna Tatara
Abhishek K. Umrawal (l) with 1st place winner Anna Tatara (r)
The Purdue Industrial Engineering Graduate Student Organization (IEGSO) held its annual Research Symposium on April 25. The symposium included a graduate student poster competition and a panel discussion with five Outstanding Industrial Engineering (OIE) alumni and a visiting lecturer alumnus.

Eight IE graduate students entered posters and presented them to faculty, fellow students, and Industrial Engineering Advisory Council members in Grissom Hall.

The IEGSO also held a Q&A discussion with five 2018 OIE alumni, Mr. Thomas J. Benes, Dr. Steven L. Dumbauld, Col. I. Milo Hardin, Dr. Kenneth J. Musselman, and Mr. Thomas P. Schmidt, and the 2019 Pritsker Lecturer, Dr. James A. Solberg. The alumni answered questions and discussed the impact of their Purdue IE experience on their career and the decisions they made along their way to success.

After the panel discussion, organizer Abhishek K. Umrawal, IEGSO Chair of Academic Affairs & Social Events, presented prizes for the top four posters:

  • 1st prize – Anna Tatara, for "Rate Estimators for Non-stationary Point Processes"
  • 2nd prize (tie) – Audrey Reinert, for "Detecting Human Machine Interaction Fingerprints in Continuous Event Data"; and Ruijiu Mao, for "Optimizing a UAV-based Emergency Medical Service Network for Trauma Injury Patients"
  • 4th prize – Ye Tian , for "ASY-SONATA: Achieving Linear Convergence in Distributed Asynchronous Multi-agent Optimization"

Congratulations, grad students!


Photo of 3rd place winner Audrey Reinert (tie)

Photo of 3rd place winner Ruijiu Mao (tie)

2nd place tie: (l) Umrawal with Audrey Reinert, and Ruijiu Mao (r)

Photo of IEGSO 2nd place - Tian Ye

(r) Umrawal with Ye Tian  (4th place)


Writer & Photographer: DeEtte Starr,