2018 IE Awards Dinner & Ceremony

Photo of Marissa Smith with certificates
(l to r) Steve Landry, Marissa Smith & Patrick Brunese hold Marissa’s four scholarship certificates
Photo of Lillian Bishop with Jim Savage
Lillian Bishop with Jim Savage
Photo of Jerry Alberts & James Evans
IE Chief Development Director Jerry Alberts (l) and crowd applaud
Dr. James Evans (r)
Photo of Erin Gough
IE Events Specialist Erin Gough (center) won the IE Outstanding Staff Award
Photo of Mario Ventresca
Asst. Prof. Mario Ventresca (l) won the Pritsker Best Teacher Award for
Excellence in Teaching
Photo of Steve Landry
Acting Head of Purdue Industrial Engineering Prof. Steve Landry (l) won the James H. Greene Outstanding Graduate Education Award
At a dinner and awards ceremony on November 15, Purdue IE celebrated student scholarship recipients and honored faculty and staff.

About 160 people attended the dinner and awards ceremony in the Shively Club at Ross-Ade Pavilion. Dr. Steve Landry, Acting Head of Purdue Industrial Engineering, welcomed the guests. The audience enjoyed hearing senior IE student Lillian Bishop and Dr. James Evans (MSIE & BSIE 1972), Professor, Department of Operations, Business Analytics, and Information Systems at the University of Cincinnati, speak. Steve Duket, IE Managing Director, presented the awards. 

Faculty and Staff Awards:

Dr. Steve Landry won the James H. Greene Outstanding Graduate Education Award. 
Dr. Mario Ventresca, Assistant Professor, won the Pritsker Best Teacher Award for Excellence in Teaching. 
Erin Gough, IE Events Specialist, won the IE Outstanding Staff Award.

The undergraduate recipients of 2018-2019 Industrial Engineering scholarships are:

Bob & Ellie Shadley Scholarship – Megan Matker and Julia Monti
Charles & Susan Armstrong Scholarship – Julia Monti
Cynthia A. Niekamp Scholarship for IE – Brittany Allen and Madison Danen
David Wunsch Memorial Prize – Marissa Smith
Dennis M. & Ellen A. Clark Scholarship in IE – Jared Birky
Emerson Scholarship in IE – Emily Nagy
Harold T. Amrine Award –  Matthew Kortepeter
J. & R. Schriefer Memorial Scholarship for IE – John Dore
Jeremy S. & Edith B. Weinstein Scholarship in IE – Fajar Ausri, Henry Berkemeier, and Benjamin Walters
Jack Posey Scholarship in IE – Rushabh Jajodia
Dr. James Barany Endowed Scholarship in IE – Kate Adams, Lillian Bishop, Brianna Cappos, Sarah Chandler, Rebecca Dvorak, Matthew Kortepeter, Katherine Leinenbach, Cassandra McCormack, Rachel Osborne, Sophia Paul, LilyAnn Peterson Gapinski, and Casey Stowers
James Farlander Family Scholarship for IE - Brittany Allen
John and Carolyn Daus Scholarship - Benjamin Walters and Taylor Duffy
Joseph DeWenter Endowed Scholarship – Sydney Boyce and Shivali Rao
Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corporation Scholarship – Tess Devinger, Kirsten Gargas, Lauren Werner, Samantha  Dykhuis, and Taylor Duffy
Melvin E. Guthrie, Jr. Scholarship – Dante Bruno, Julia Conversa, Maria Conversa, Shannon McGeever, and Victoria Schwieger
Meritor Automotive Scholarship – Austin Bohlin, Grace Dunker, Yichen Fan, Patrick Foster, Utkuhan Genc, Abigail Hancock, Kyle Hannon, and Daniel Nelson
Parvathi & Parasuram Scholarship for IE – Adam Goodman
Persistent Bulldog Memorial Scholarship – Marissa Smith
Prof. James W. Barany Scholarship – Sophia Paul
Robert E. Savage Scholarship – Lillian Bishop, Sarah Chandler, Robert M. Davis, Matthew Kortepeter, LilyAnn Peterson Gapinski, Teresa Raffin, Varun Raju, and Farhan Sohail
Ross Dobkin Memorial Scholarship – Chad Lawrence
Ruddell Reed, Jr. Memorial Scholarship – Marissa Smith
Thomas & Lee Porter IE Scholarship – Alexis Adams and Katherine Leinenbach
Tom Sparrow Scholarship in IE – Rohan Agarwala and Arjun Chawla
William & Barbara Rollins Scholarship – Katie Pautler
Winston C. Lister Scholarship in IE – Mohd Iramul Hoque and Shangjing Tang
Youssef I. ElGomayel Scholarship in IE – Alexander Merrick
Adel and Susan Zakaria Scholarship – Marissa Smith and Matthew Kim
John A. Ritchey Memorial Scholarship – Samantha Dykhuis
L. Stephen Boehm Scholarship – Austin Bohlin
Robert E. Swinehart & Cheryl Swinehart Scholarship – Austin Bohlin, Elizabeth Crail and Kyle Frost

The graduate recipients of 2018-19 Industrial Engineering Assistantships and Fellowships are:

Robert E. Savage Fellowship – Erin Groll and Jennifer Reagin
Dr. T. & I. Williams Fellowship – Maya Luster, Tejaskumar Pradipbhai Tamboli
Lee A. Chaden Fellowship in Industrial Engineering – Nathan Geldner and Yan Chen