Doraiswami Ramkrishna

Harry Creighton Peffer Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering

FRNY 1164
Purdue University
Davidson School of Chemical Engineering
Forney Hall of Chemical Engineering
480 Stadium Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2100
(765) 494-4066 (office)
(765) 494-0805 (fax)
Joined Purdue in 1976
B.S. University of Bombay (1960)
Ph.D University of Minnesota (1965)

Research Group

Graduate Students

  • Lina Aboulmouna
  • Akancha Pandey (co-advised with Sangtae Kim)
  • Conor Parks
  • Vu Thien Tran
  • Parul Verma

Research Associates

  • Hyun-Seob Song

Awards and Honors

B.D. Tilak Visiting Fellowship, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, 2016
Sigma Xi Faculty Research Award (Purdue Chapter), March 2013
College of Science, Team Award, 2012
Foreign Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering, 2011
College of Engineering Mentoring Award, April 2010
College of Engineering Team Award, April 2010
M. M. Sharma Distinguished Professor, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai U, 2010-
Platinum Award from Mumbai University Institute of Chemical Technology, May 21, 2009
Member, National Academy of Engineering, 2009
Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 2007
Jewel of Ruia (Outstanding Alumnus) Award from Undergraduate Alma Mater, December 2006
Purdue Research Excellence Award, April 2005
Fredrickson Lecture, University of Minnesota, September 10, 2004
Honorary Doctor of Science, University of Minnesota, Spring 2004
2004 AIChE Thomas Baron Award in Fluid-Particle Systems
Honorary Fellow of the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers, December 2001
Kvaerner Powergas, N. R. Kamath Memorial Lecturer at Chemcon 2001, Chennai, India, December 19, 2001
2001 Senior Humboldt Award to visit the Max Planck Institute, Magdeburg, Germany
2001 Fulbright Award to visit Germany (declined)
1999 Dow-Professor Sharma Distinguished Fellow in Chemical Engineering at Bombay University
Distinguished Lecturer, The State University of New Jersey, Rutgers, Piscataway, NJ, April 16, 1998
1998 AIChE R. H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering
Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, January 1, 1996
'UDCT DIAMOND' Award; Bombay University, Department of Chemical Technology, August 4, 1994
Melchor Visiting Professor, University of Notre Dame, Fall 1994
Harry Creighton Peffer Distinguished Professor, Purdue University, July 1994
George T. Piercy Distinguished Visiting Professor, University of Minnesota 9/16-12/15, 1988
1987 AIChE Alpha Chi Sigma Award in Chemical Engineering
Dr. G.P. Kane Professor, 3/83-4/83, Bombay University
University Grants Commission Visiting Professor, 1982-83, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore