Three IE finalists honored at CoE awards dinner

Photo of IE staff at Engineering Awards dinner
IE staff at the CoE Staff Excellence Awards dinner
On December 2, the College of Engineering held its annual awards banquet to recognize and celebrate Engineering staff who have excelled in their commitment to the College.

Three Purdue IE staff members were among 20 finalists for the 2016 College of Engineering Staff Excellence Awards, and one received the College's leadership award. Hosted by Leah H. Jamieson, the John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering, almost 200 co-workers, family and friends attended the event with the finalists at the Shively Club in Ross-Ade Pavilion. 

IE Managing Director Steve Duket won the 2016 Leah H. Jamieson Leadership Award for his substantial contributions to integrate and broadcast long-term strategies focused on the School of Industrial Engineering’s "ReThink IE" initiative, which has led to a significant and positive impact on both student and operational views.

Two other IE staff were recognized as finalists but did not win the awards. They are:

  • Patrick Brunese, Senior Academic Administrator – for Professional Achievement for his enthusiastic advocacy of the School of Industrial Engineering through his well-balanced efforts to enhance student recruitment, outreach and support; increase staff performance by way of effective learning tools; and grow programs through global partnerships.
  • DeEtte Starr, Communications Specialist – for Administrative Professional Customer Service for her proactive approach to the improvement of communication processes that promote impactful content and enhance the timeliness, visibility and reputation of the School of Industrial Engineering.

The College honored the finalists in five individual categories: Administrative/Professional Customer Service, Clerical/Service Customer Service, Leadership, New Employee, and Professional Achievement. A Team Award was also given to five employees of the Office of Future Engineers.

Leadership award winner Steve Duket (l) with Dean Jamieson (r) Patrick Brunese finalist  DeEtte Starr, finalist

(l) Dean Jamieson presents the Leah H. Jamieson Leadership Award to Steve Duket;
(c) Patrick Brunese, 
finalist for the Professional Achievement Award;
(r) DeEtte Starr, finalist for the 
Administrative/Professional Customer Service Award

Writer: DeEtte Starr,

Related Link: