SEMINAR: INSPIREing Engineering Learning in Informal and Formal Learning Environments (eLIFE)

Event Date: February 7, 2013
Speaker: Dr. Johannes Strobel, Director, INSPIRE & Dr. Senay Purzer, Director, Assessment Research, INSPIRE & others
Time: 3:30pm
Location: ARMS B071
Contact Name: Dr. Alice Pawley
Contact Email:
Priority: No
College Calendar: Show

Pre-college STEM Education is on the move and rapidly changing - both in informal and formal learning environments. Since its inception in 2006, INSPIRE is in the midst of these interesting times, conducting research, developing infrastructure for the community and impacting a wide range of stakeholders including learners, educators at different places.

This presentation is a team-led showcase of a range of existing INSPIRE projects and initiatives and invites the audience to provide reflections, feedback and discussions on the role of INSPIRE and its future positioning.

Johannes Strobel is Director of INSPIRE, Institute for P-12 Engineering Research and Learning and Assistant Professor of Engineering Education & Learning Design and Technology at Purdue University. NSF and several private foundations fund his research. His research and teaching focuses on policy of P-12 engineering, how to support teachers' innovative practice and students' academic achievements through engineering learning, the measurement and support of change of 'habits of mind', particularly in regards to empathy and care and the use of cyber-infrastructure to sensitively and resourcefully provide access to and support learning.

Şenay Purzer is an Assistant Professor in the School of Engineering Education and is the Director of Assessment Research for the Institute for P-12 Engineering Research and Learning (INSPIRE) at Purdue University. She is an editorial board member for the Journal of Pre-College Engineering Education (JPEER). She has journal publications on instrument development/validation, teaming & design education, and teacher professional development. Dr. Purzer is a NAE/CASEE New Faculty Fellow and a recipient of a 2012 NSF CAREER award, which examines how engineering students approach innovation.