Skip navigation

Contact Us

Director - Professor Arvind Varma

R. Games Slayter Distinguished Professor
Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head of Chemical Engineering
Dr. Arvind Varma is the R. Games Slayter Distinguished Professor and Jay & Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head, School of Chemical Engineering at Purdue University. He is also the Director of the Purdue-Mexico Center for Sustainability. His research interests are in chemical and catalytic reaction engineering, and clean energy technology. He has published over 280 archival journal research articles in these areas, co-authored three books and co-edited two books. He is the founding Editor (1996-present) of the Cambridge Series in Chemical Engineering, a series of textbooks and monographs published by the Cambridge University Press. He has received a number of awards for his research and teaching from AIChE, ASEE and ACS, and in 2010 was elected as a foreign member of Mexico’s Academy of Engineering.


Associate Director - Professor Enrico Martinez

Professor of Engineering Practice

Dr. Enrico Martinez is currently Professor of Engineering Practice in Chemical Engineering at Purdue University. He received his Ph. D. and M. S. degrees in Chemical Engineering from the University of Notre Dame, and B. S. degree from UNAM. He served as full time professor for 2 years at the National University (UNAM) and 13 years at the Metropolitan University (UAM) in México City, where he founded the B. S., M. S. and Ph. D. programs from 1975 to 1988. He was Dean of Science and Engineering of UAM (1985-88) and joined Industrias Negromex (INSA) in 1988 as Technical Director becoming Operations Vice President in 1991. He was Technical Director for Dynasol Elastomeros from 1999 to 2005. He was Chairman of the Environmental Health Committee of the International Institute of Synthetic Rubber Producers (IISRP), 1989-1990, and served in the Institute’s Board of Directors-Americas Section from 1999 to 2005. He was Professor at the Instituto de Estudios Superiores de Tamaulipas (Anahuac Universities network, Mexico), 2006-2009, when he joined Purdue University. He received the Technical Award from IISRP in 2008 for his technical and scientific contributions to the rubber industry. He received the National Quality Award and the National Technology Award from the President of Mexico. He is Editor in Chief of the Journal of Enzyme Engineering.