Two Nuclear Engineering Faculty Promoted to Full Professor

Purdue University’s Board of Trustees approved two School of Nuclear Engineering faculty members for promotion to Full Professor on Friday April 14th, 2023.

Dr. Hany Abdel-Khalik joined Purdue University in 2014 as a tenured Associate Professor.  He is an internationally recognized expert in the development of data-driven / physics-guided algorithms. More specifically, he has made seminal contributions in predictive science including; uncertainty quantification & inference and the security of critical systems via a novel paradigm referred to as covert cognizance. To date, he has published 52 peer-reviewed journal papers and has advised 9 PhD and 3 MS students to degree completion. Currently, he is advising 2 PhD and 4 MS students. His entrepreneurial work has been recognized by Impactful Inventor Award and Purdue Foundry’s Black Award. Among many international activities, he serves on International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Expert Consultancy Group on the use of Artificial Intelligence in Nuclear Engineering.

Dr. Allen Garner joined Purdue University in 2012 as a tenure-track Assistant Professor, then was tenured & promoted to an Associate Professor in 2019.  He is internationally recognized for his impactful research on Electron Emission and Gas Breakdown; and Biomedical Application of Non-ionizing Radiation. To date, he has published more than 90 peer-reviewed journal papers and has advised 7 PhD and 8 MS students to degree completion. Currently, he is advising 5 PhD and 3 MS students. Among many external honors and awards he received, some notable ones include; Election to 2013 IEEE senior member; 2016 IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society Early Achievement Award; and Oak Ridge Affiliated University Fellow in 2021. He also received Purdue Excellence in Research Award in 2020.

This is a great milestone to be celebrated not only for Drs. Abdel-Khalik and Garner, but for the entire School of Nuclear Engineering. Congratulations to Drs. Abdel-Khalik and Garner for their great achievement!

Read the entire list of promoted faculty at