Skip navigation

TPAN at-a-Glance


This Interdisciplinary Training Program in Auditory Neuroscience will provide graduate student training and research experience at the interface of science and engineering, and in both humans and animal models. This training program will prepare students for independent research careers that can advance our understanding of auditory system function using innovative tools and technologies. It is expected that graduates of this training program will develop creative solutions, devices and strategies to assist and prevent hearing loss in human patients.




  • The NIH NRSA T32 Training Grant from the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) began on July 1, 2018.
  • Training-grant slots generally provide student funding for 2 years (assuming adequate progress on an auditory neuroscience project after Year 1).
  • There will generally be two new slots each year, with slots running from July 1 - June 30.
  • Each year, funded trainees receives a tuition waiver, a stipend at the NIH NRSA level*, travel money ($800) for a conference/course/workshop, and some additional discretionary money ($3-4k, to cover health insurance and training expenses, e.g., computer, lab supplies/expenses, supplemental travel, etc.).
  • Eligibility criteria for training-grant funded slots are:
    • The trainee must be a citizen or a noncitizen national of the United States, or have been lawfully admitted for permanent residence.
    • Generally, students enter the Training Program in their 2nd or 3rd year of their PhD program (MD/PhD students may enter in 1st year of the PhD portion of their joint degree).
    • Student may enter from one of 5 Graduate Programs (BIO, BME, ECE, PULSe, SLHS).
  • Funded students will participate in the Interdisciplinary Training Program in Auditory Neuroscience throughout their entire PhD program (i.e., even after training-grant funding ends).  See Application Forms in "Information For" section for all formal requirements.
  • Students working on relevant projects that are funded from other mechanisms are also encouraged to join and participate in the Interdisciplinary Training Program in Auditory Neuroscience (i.e., you do not need to be funded from the training grant to participate in the Training Program).


Training Program Faculty

Auditory Neuroscience

Technology Innovators

Josh Alexander, PhD (SLHS)

Edward Bartlett, PhD (BIO/BME)

Ximena Bernal, PhD (BIO)

Hari Bharadwaj, PhD (SLHS/BME)

Donna Fekete, PhD (BIO) [co-Director]

Michael Heinz, PhD (SLHS/BME) [co-Director]

Ananthanarayan (Ravi) Krishnan, PhD (SLHS)

Jeffrey Lucas, PhD (BIO)

Elizabeth Strickland, PhD (SLHS)


Alexander Chubykin, PhD (BIO)

Meng Cui, PhD (ECE/BIO)

Maria Dadarlat Makin (BME)

Krishna Jayant (BME)

Hyowon (Hugh) Lee, PhD (BME)

Riyi Shi, PhD MD (BME/BMS)

David Umulis, PhD (ABE/BME)