Atoms for Humanity aims to highlight the role of nuclear energy in achieving a clean energy ecosystem through synergisms and complementarities with various energy sources. Topics include, but are not limited to, decarbonization, hydrogen production, electrification of transportation, integrated energy storage with renewables, district heating/CHP, desalination, agriculture, and manufacturing.

Join Us

As we host industry, government, and academic thought leaders and students, working on scientific, technical and policy approaches to attain clean energy goals.

Featured Speakers

Paul Kearns

Laboratory Director
Argonne National Laboratory

Karen Plaut

Exec. Vice President (Research)
Purdue University

Michael B Cline

Senior Vice President for Administrative Operations
Purdue University

Weinong Chen

Associate Dean (Research), College of Engineering
Reilly Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics & Materials Engineering Joint appointment
Purdue University

J'Tia Hart

Division Director
Nuclear Nonproliferation
Idaho National Laborator

Youssef Ballout

Division Director
Reactor Systems and Engineering
Idaho National Laboratory

John Jackson

National Technical Director
Idaho National Laboratory

Temitope Taiwo

Division Director
Nuclear Science and Engineering
Argonne National Laboratory

Richard Vilim

Manager, Plant Analysis & Control and Sensors Department
Argonne National Laboratory

Susan Hogle

Division Director, Radioisotope Science and Technology
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Frederica Darema

President and CEO
InfoSymbiotic Systems Society

Christopher Nolan

Vice President of New Nuclear Generation Strategy and Regulatory Engagement
Duke Energy

Kelley Karn

Vice President (Regulatory Affairs and Policy)
Duke Energy

Zach McDaniel

Director (Partnerships and Grants)
Westinghouse Electric Company

Abbey Donahue

Technical Integrator
BWX Technologies, Inc.

Seungjin Kim

Capt. James F. McCarthy, Jr. and Cheryl E. McCarthy Head of the School of Nuclear Engineering
Purdue University

Fabio H. Ribeiro

William Nicholas and Elizabeth Holstein Delgass Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering
Director of CISTAR, 2020-2025
Purdue University

Jay Gore

Reilly University Chair Professor
Courtesy Appointments in Aeronautics & Astronautics and Chemical Engineering
Purdue University

Timothée Pourpoint

University Faculty Scholar, 2020-2025
Purdue University

Program Committee Members (Purdue University)




Hitesh Bindra

Technical Program Chair

Nuclear Engineering

Lefteri Tsoukalas

General Chair

Nuclear Engineering

Dionysios Aliprantis


Electrical Engineering

Timothee Pourpoint


Aeronautics and Astronautics

Stylianos Chatzidakis

Assistant Professor

Nuclear Engineering

Guillermo Paniagua-Perez


Mechanical Engineering

Program Committee Members




Chris Nolan

Duke Engery

Vice President

Anton Bougaev


Research Scientist

Vivek Agarwal

Idaho National Laboratory

Distinguished Scientist

Piyush Sabharwal

Idaho National Laboratory

Department Manager

Ling Zou

Argonne National Laboratory

Group Manager

Prashant Jain

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Section Head

2019 Atoms for Humanity Symposium Preview

The 2019 symposium featured two main headliner events, with insider perspectives on next generation nuclear and lessons learned from the Fukushima meltdown, as well as four breakout sessions with top-notch experts alongside leading researchers and students from Purdue University on how nuclear fits into health, space exploration, AI & robotics, and sustainability.The panels were moderated by award-winning PBS science reporter Miles O’Brien and Third Way clean energy policy advisor Jackie Kempfer.


School of Nuclear Engineering

Purdue University
Lambertus Hall, Room 5281
363 N. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907
Phone: (765) 494-5739