GMP in the News


Best Student Paper Award

Congratulations to Shay Ogebule, who won the "Best Graduate Paper Award" at the 182nd Technical Meeting of the International Rubber Expo/ACS Rubber Division. Her paper, titled "Necking in fumed silica filled poly(dimethylsiloxane) and the resulting mechanical properties of the necked material," was selected among many others from colleges worldwide.



Best Student Paper Award

Congratulations!!! Sri Chaitra Jyotsna Chavali received the Intel Best Student Paper (out of 61 entries) Award at The Electronics Components and Technology Conference, 62nd ECTC 2012 for the paper, "Aging Aware Constitutive Models for SnAgCu Solder Alloys," S. Chavali, Y. Singh, P. Kumar, G. Subbarayan, I. Dutta and D. R. Edwards from Purdue University, Washington State University and Texas Instruments.

National Fellowship Winners

Congratulations to 5 GMP members for winning the 2012 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. This fellowship is a highly competitive national award has over 10,000 applicants. The fellowship benefits include a three-year annual stipend of $30,000 along with a cost of education allowance for tuition and fees, and access to other NSF opportunities for research and professional development.

          Emily Dringenberg
          Caitlin Grady

          Fushcia Hoover
          Lizbeth Rostro
          Heather Wiest

2012 Outstanding Service Scholarship

This spring GMP member Katya Casper won the Outstanding Service Scholarship for her contributions to the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the College of Engineering and the University.




GMP Member Featured in "5 Students Who"

Rebecca Logsdon was featured in the "5 Students Who" are Policy Makers for her active role in the West Lafayette and Lafayette governments as well as her recent election to be the 2011-2012 Purdue Graduate Student Government President. Congratulations Becca!

Wadsworth Mentoring Award

Congratulations to Jamie Brugnano (left) on winning the Wadsworth mentoring award in 2011 and Rebecca Logsdon (right) for winning it in 2012!


Purdue Challenge 5K Run/Walk

 winning The Purdue GMP won the Cuonzo Martin Student Challenge Award for participation in the 2010 Challenge, which is a Purdue Center for Cancer Research fundraiser. In 2011, the Purdue GMP also participated in the Purdue Challenege with a great team! This year, over 20 WIEP GMP women participated in the 5th annual challenge. This year a record-setting number of 2,000 people came out to support the cause raising $64,000 for the Purdue's Center for Cancer Research. Thank you to all of the participants from 2010, 2011, and 2012. (Pictured, several GMP members from the 2012 race)