Student and Faculty Awards

During the 2018-2019 academic year, EEE was proud to honor multiple students and faculty with awards and scholarships. Awards are listed in alphabetical order.

Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship – Congratulations Renee Obringer! This fellowship support for outstanding Ph.D. candidates in their final year of doctoral degree completion. The goal of the fellowship, awarded by the Dean of Purdue’s Graduate School, is to allow exceptional candidates to focus exclusively on finishing their dissertation. 

Bruce Helfert Memorial Award - Congratulations Megan Geraghty! This award is given each year to an outstanding junior in the College of Science or College of Engineering who demonstrates academic excellence, dedication to sharing knowledge, and social concern. Candidates must also have at least a cumulative 3.5 GPA. The Helfert Family established the Bruce Helfert memorial Award in memory of their son, Bruce, a physician, who graduated from Purdue’s College of Science in 1964.

Chappelle Fellowship - Congratulations Danielle Klawitter! The Chappelle Fellowship is a highly competitive award for students with undergraduate degrees from Purdue for furtherance of post-graduate studies at Purdue. Chappelle Fellows are selected on the basis of character, intellectual ability, and promise of degree attainment.

EAC Scholarship - Congratulations Adrienne Farr! Each year this scholarship is given out to a student with a 3.0+ GPA and a commitment to the program. Farr was an exemplary choice. She is currently earning her BSEEE with two minors in sustainable engineering and natural resources and environmental science. Farr has had the opportunity to put the EEE vision into practice during two different internships. While interning at both 3M and BMW, she used her critical thinking skills and her ability to integrate a variety of perspectives into solutions.

Instructional Excellence Award - The Society of Environmental and Ecological Engineers (SEEE) recognizes an EEE faculty member for outstanding achievement in the area of teaching with an emphasis on the past academic year. Students in the EEE undergraduate degree program vote for an instructor based on the faculty member's commitment to student success, ability to effectively communicate material to students, and desire to motivate students to learn. SEEE president Maddy Callahan was pleased to present the Instructional Excellence Award for the 2018-2019 academic year to Professor Hua.

Louis Sudler Prize in the Arts - Congratulations to Greg Dieter! The prize is awarded to outstanding seniors who have demonstrated excellence and the highest standards of proficiency in the visual or performing arts.

Magoon Graduate Teacher Award - Congratulations Jacob Klaybor! This honor recognizes outstanding teaching assistants in memory of Estus H. and Vashti L. Magoon, who influenced the lives of many engineering educators early in their careers, through this award. The selection is made by both faculty and students to recognize those students who were exemplary in their work as teaching assistants. 

Outstanding Engineering Graduate Student Mentor Award - This award is voted on by graduate students in EEE to recognize a faculty member who has been an outstanding mentor to graduate students. Jessica Puente Castro, president of the EEE graduate student organization, presented the award to Professor Zhi (George) Zhou. Inscription from plaque, “Dr. Zhou is academically and professionally invested in his students. He serves as a constant source of encouragement and continually works to enhance the skill set of each of his students in pursuit of their career goals. He is an excellent lecturer and his commitment and concern for graduate student academic and professional growth and the environment is remarkable.”

Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award – Congratulations Renee Obringer! This honor recognizes outstanding Ph.D. candidates who have demonstrated excellence in research through publications, recognized contributions to the research field and society, leadership within a research community, academic achievements, and participation in professional societies.

Outstanding Senior Award - This award is selected based on academic performance, leadership, service, and professional activities. A testament to the quality of the EEE program is this: thirty-four students were eligible for the award this year. The recipient is selected by vote of the EEE faculty. The recipient will receive a plaque and their name will be placed on a permanent display to serve as an inspiration for future students. The recipient of the 2019 EEE Outstanding Senior Award is Ryan Gansemer. He has assisted Tammi Thayer with various outreach events, interned at Bechtel Corporation, is a Trustee Scholar, and has been on the Dean’s list and semester honors list numerous times.  He is active in Boiler Gold Rush, the fall freshman orientation program. He has accepted a position at Burns and McDonnell.

Outstanding Service Award - Congratulations Tolulope Odimayomi! Faculty in EEE selected Odimayomi for her contributions to the quality, reputation, and success of the graduate student community, School, College, and University. 

Partners for Pollution Prevention Scholarship - Congratulations Maritza Villalobos-Lopez! Maritza was also honored for receiving a Phillips 66 Scholarship for the 2018-19 school year. She is a senior in Environmental and Ecological Engineering. She is passionate about protecting and improving water quality. After graduation in the fall, Maritza hopes to put all she learned at Purdue to use in improving stormwater systems while protecting our environment.

Phillips 66 Scholarship - Congratulations Michael Morrisson! Originally from Cleveland, Ohio, Morrison came to Purdue to study engineering. His original major was Nuclear Engineering, but he switched to EEE after his sophomore year and hasn’t looked back since. Morrisson will be working for Intel as an Environmental Engineer.

Purdue Engineering Felllows - Congratulations Megan Geraghty! Through the generosity of Robert Buckman and Joyce Mollerup, five engineering seniors were nominated by faculty and staff and chosen by a committee to receive $10,000 each after they graduate from Purdue in 2020. They can use the money to pursue any future endeavors and Buckman hopes his gifts will allow them to realize their dreams.

Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Award – Congratulations Sruthi Dasika! This award honors graduate students with teaching responsibilities for their dedication to Purdue undergraduate students and their exceptional teaching contributions.