CHIPS for America: Execute for Success 2023 Policy and Strategy Summit

In partnership with:

President Mung Chiang, on behalf of Purdue University, and Senator Todd Young invite you to participate in a daylong summit focused on the future of U.S. competitiveness in microelectronics and the semiconductor workforce, to be held on April 18, 2023.

The theme of this policy and strategy summit is "Executing for Success" focusing specifically on the CHIPS Act workforce development and R&D; programs. Over the past year, many workshops, meetings, and reports have helped shape a vision that CHIPS Program office recently published for the semiconductor incentives and another one that the CHIPS Research and Development Office will soon publish. In this summit, the conversation will shift from defining the vision to executing the vision. Participants from government, industry, and academia will share their perspectives on the challenges ahead, ways to measure our progress, and to sustain the effort over the long term.

This event will take place at the Russell Senate Office Building in Washington, DC.

For questions related to the summit, please email Please check this website for event updates.


CHIPS for America: Execute for Success 2023 Policy and Strategy Summit Livestream



Session Details

April 18, 2023
10:00 am - 2:00pm EDT

Russell Senate Office Building
2 Construction Ave NE
Washington, DC 20002

Timeline of Events

8:30 - Registration Opens

9:00 - Networking Breakfast

10:00 - Welcome, The Honorable Ian Steff, Fmr. Assistant Secretary of Commerce & President and CEO, mySilicon Compass

10:05 - Opening Remarks, Dr. Mung Chiang, President, Purdue University

10:10 - Executing for Success: Government Perspectives Panel

  1. John Neuffer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Semiconductor Industry Association, moderator
  2. Dr. Eric Lin, Interim Director, CHIPS Research and Development, CHIPS for America, U.S. Department of Commerce
  3. Dr. Dev Shenoy, Principal Director of Microelectronics, U.S. Department of Defense
  4. The Honorable Ramin Toloui, Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs, Department of State

10:55 - Executing for Success: Industry Perspectives Panel

  1. Dr. Rob Atkinson, President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation, moderator
  2. Dr. Sanjeev Aggarwal, President and CEO, Everspin Technologies, Inc
  3. Manish Bhatia, Executive Vice President, Global Operations, Micron
  4. Keyvan Esfarjani, Chief Global Operations Officer, Intel
  5. Satheesh Kuppurao, Group VP for Business Development and Growth, Applied Materials
  6. Ajit Manocha, President and Chief Executive Officer, SEMI
  7. Thomas Sonderman, President and Chief Executive Officer, SkyWater

11:40 - Executing for Success: University Panel

  1. Dr. Todd Younkin, President and CEO, Semiconductor Research Corporation, moderator
  2. Dr. Matt Kay, T&AM Program Manager, Office of Deputy CTO for Critical Technologies
  3. Dr. Tsu-Jae King Liu, Dean and Roy W. Carlson Professor of Engineering, University of California, Berkeley
  4. Dr. Mark Lundstrom, Don and Carol Scifres Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Chief Semiconductor Officer, Purdue University
  5. Max Mirgoli, Executive Vice President of Worldwide Strategic Partnerships, imec
  6. Dr. Philip Wong, Willard R. and Inez Kerr Bell Professor, Stanford University

12:20 - Lunch Buffet

1:00 - Fireside Chat The Honorable Gina Raimondo, Secretary of Commerce, with Senator Todd Young, led by Purdue President Dr. Mung Chiang

1:40 - Closing Remarks, Barbara Snyder, President, Association of American Universities

1:50 - Closing Remarks, Dr. Mung Chiang, President, Purdue University

2:00 - Adjourn



  • Advantest
  • Advanced Technology Programs
  • Air Force Academy Institute for Future Conflict
  • Air Liquide North America
  • Alvarez and Marsal
  • Amazon Web Services
  • American Automotive Policy Council
  • America's Frontier Fund
  • American Mathematical Society
  • American Multinational Semiconductor Company
  • Analog Devices
  • Ancora
  • Applied Materials
  • Applied Research Institute
  • ASML
  • Association of American Universities
  • Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB)
  • Azorian Strategies
  • Bechtel
  • Bessemer Venture Partners
  • Binghamton University
  • Boeing
  • Bose McKinney & Evans LLP
  • Bose Public Affairs Group
  • Breaking Defense
  • Brigham Young University
  • Cadence Design Systems
  • Cardinal Crest Solutions
  • Cisco Systems
  • CrimStone Partners
  • CSIS
  • Dassault Systèmes
  • Defense Innovation Unit
  • Dentons
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Economic Innovation Group
  • Efabless Corporation
  • Embassy of Belgium
  • Everspin Technologies, Inc.
  • Federation of American Scientists
  • Frontier Allies
  • Girard Government Relations
  • GlobalFoundries
  • Green Sinders Consulting LLC
  • Holland & Knight
  • Hoover Institution
  • IBM
  • imec
  • Indiana University
  • Information Technology and Innovation Foundation
  • Innovative Federal Strategies
  • In-Q-Tel
  • Insight Partners
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
  • Intel Corporation
  • Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity (IARPA)
  • Intelligent Designs LLC
  • International Trade Administration
  • Invesco
  • Ivy Tech Community College
  • J Street Group, LLC
  • JH Whitney Investment Management
  • JRC Integrated Systems
  • KDCR Partners
  • Keysight Technologies
  • Krach Institute for Tech Diplomacy at Purdue
  • Lam Research Corporation
  • Lewis-Burke Associates LLC
  • Light Forge Productions
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Lucid Circuit
  • Marvell Technology, Inc.
  • Mediatek
  • Mercury Systems
  • Merit
  • Michigan State University
  • Micron Technology
  • Microsoft
  • MIT
  • MITRE Engenuity
  • Moonshot Technologies Inc.
  • Morgan State University School of Engineering
  • Motive International
  • mySilicon Compass
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • National Science Foundation
  • NDIA - Emerging Technologies Institute
  • NeeleySynergy
  • New Hope Energy
  • New York Times
  • Nextgov
  • Nhanced
  • NI-National Instruments
  • Ninetwelve Solutions
  • NIST
  • North Carolina State University
  • NSWC Crane
  • Office of Naval Research
  • Office of the Secretary of Defense
  • onsemi
  • Oxford Instruments Plasma Technology
  • Palantir Technologies
  • Pallidus
  • Parry Labs LLC
  • Pittsburg State University
  • Project Lead The Way
  • Purdue Research Foundation
  • Purdue University
  • Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.
  • Raffetto Herman Strategic Communications
  • Rationalwave Capital Partners
  • Raytheon Technologies
  • Reliable MicroSystems
  • RH Strategic
  • ROKK Solutions
  • Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • San Jose State University
  • Sandia National Labs
  • SEI Consulting
  • SEMI
  • Semiconductor Digest
  • Semiconductor Industry Association
  • Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Silicon Heartland
  • SK hynix America
  • SkyWater Technology
  • Sozo Holding / Strike Photonics
  • Stanford University
  • STEM Education Coalition
  • StrategEast
  • Strider Technologies
  • Subject Matter
  • SUNY Binghamton University
  • Synopsys
  • TE Connectivity
  • TEL Technology Center, America LLC
  • Texas Instruments
  • The Asia Group
  • The Ohio State University
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific
  • Tokyo Electron America
  • TSMC
  • Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of Louisville
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Notre Dame
  • University of TN at Chattanooga
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Wall Street Journal
  • Western Digital
  • Wiley Rein LLP
  • Winning Strategies Washington
  • ZRG Partners