EE 369

Discrete Mathematics for Computer Engineering

Professor:
Office:
Phone:
Office hours:
Login:
Web page:
Bob Givan
EE 313C
4-9068
follow this link
givan@purdue.edu
http://engineering.purdue.edu/~givan/
Teaching Assistant:
Office:
Office hours:


Email:
Alain Chen
EE 208
Mondays 15:30-16:30
Tuesdays 10:00-11:00
Wednesdays 13:30-14:30
chen2967@purdue.edu

Announcements

Exams

Two midterm exams are scheduled as follows:

* Midterm Exam 1: Wednesday, October 3, 2018, In Class
* Midterm Exam 2: Wednesday, November 7, 2018, In Class
* Final Exam: Friday, December 14, 2018, 7:00p - 9:00p, EE 170

Logic rules provided in the applicable exams

Class content discussions can be found on Piazza

Course Policies

Access to the following pages requires a Purdue login.

* Course Syllabus

Lecture Slides

* Monday, 2018/08/20   Introduction to sets
* Wednesday, 2018/08/22   Sets, Intro to recursive definition
* Friday, 2018/08/24   Recursive definition, Intro to Boolean Logic
* Monday, 2018/08/27   Syntax and Semantics of Boolean Logic
* Wednesday, 2018/08/29   Entailment
* Friday, 2018/08/31   Entailment, Introduction to Proofs
* Wednesday, 2018/09/05   Deduction Method, Formalizing English Arguments
* Friday, 2018/09/07   Relational databases, Predicate logic syntax
* Monday, 2018/09/10   Predicate Logic semantics
* Wednesday, 2018/09/12   Predicate Logic Proof
* Friday, 2018/09/14   Introduction to (not formal) proof
* Monday, 2018/09/17   Proof techniques
* Wednesday, 2018/09/19   First principle of mathematical induction
* Friday, 2018/09/21   Induction fallacies, 2nd principle of mathematical induction
* Monday, 2018/09/24   Introduction to infinity
* Wednesday, 2018/09/26   Countability
* Friday, 2018/09/28   Uncountability, Basic counting
* Monday, 2018/10/01   (Alain) Basic counting examples, Pigeonhole principle
* Friday, 2018/10/05   Inclusion/Exclusion
* Wednesday, 2018/10/10   Permutations, Combinations, Binomial theorem
* Friday, 2018/10/12   Deriving generalized inclusion/exclusion. Replacement. Indistinguishable elements.
* Monday, 2018/10/15   Homogeneous recurrences.
* Wednesday, 2018/10/17   Recurrences with repeated roots, non-homogeneity.
* Friday, 2018/10/19   (Alain) Group Theory
* Monday, 2018/10/22   Finding particular solutions to a non-homogeneous recurrence; Properties of binary relations
* Wednesday, 2018/10/24   Partial orders, Equivalence relations, Closure
* Friday, 2018/10/26   Functions, Computation, Decision problems
* Monday, 2018/10/29   Undecidability
* Wednesday, 2018/10/31   Finite state automata
* Friday, 2018/11/2   Regular expressions
* Monday, 2018/11/5   Non-determinism
* Friday, 2018/11/9   Eliminating Non-determinism
* Monday, 2018/11/12   A regular expression for any FSA
* Wednesday, 2018/11/14   Polynomial time decidability
* Friday, 2018/11/16   Introduction to Nondeterministic Polynomial Problems (NP)

Homeworks

(Solution links will not work until due date)

* Homework 1   (Due on blackboard: August 27, 1:30pm)   Solution 1  
* Homework 2   (Due on blackboard: September 7, 1:30pm)   Solution 2  
* Homework 3   (Due on blackboard: September 17, 1:30pm)   Solution 3  
* Homework 4   (Due on blackboard: Sep 24, 1:30pm)   Solution 4  
* Homework 5   (Due on blackboard: Oct 15, 1:30pm)   Solution 5  
* Homework 6   (Due on blackboard: Oct 29, 1:30pm)   Solution 6  
* Homework 7   (Due on blackboard: Nov 19, 1:30pm)   Solution 7  

Sample Exams

Please note: these are actually previous exams, provided to give you an idea of the style of exams you will encounter. They are not provided as practice exams. Course content has varied since these exams were given.
* Sample first midterm   (Solutions to non-homework problems)
* Sample second midterm   (Solutions)
* Sample final   (Solutions)


Maintained by Bob Givan and course staff
givan@purdue.edu