Awards received by faculty and staff in EEE.

ASME Fellow - Fu Zhao

Fu Zhao, an associate professor of Mechanical Engineering and EEE, has been elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) for his significant achievements in engineering research and education.

Zhao is a leading researcher in the field of sustainable design and manufacturing. He is known for his work in characterizing the environmental impacts of manufacturing processes, energy conscious production scheduling, and life cycle assessment of renewable energy systems. His research has been supported by the NSF, DOE, EPA and industry. He is author or co-author of 95 archival journal papers and 55 refereed conference proceedings, and his work has been widely cited by researchers around the world. Zhao chaired the Life Cycle Engineering Technical Committee of ASME’s Manufacturing Engineering (MED) from 2008 to 2010 and the Design for Manufacturing and Life Cycle Technical Committee of ASME’s Design Engineering Division (DED) from 2016 to 2017.


College of Engineering Professional Achievement Award

EEE Lab Manager Nadya Zyaykina received the College of Engineering Professional Achievement Award during the 17th annual Staff Awards of Excellence ceremony in December 2018. Zyaykina supports the environmental laboratories in Hampton, and holds a joint position with Civil Engineering and EEE.

Mung Chiang, the John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering, handed out the awards and explained that 32 nominations were received. That number was narrowed to 16 finalists, and those staff members were honored at the ceremony. The nominations came from 16 different schools, divisions, and programs within the College.

Purdue Book of Great Teachers

Dr. Chad Jafvert was inducted into Purdue’s Book of Great Teachers in December 2018. The recognition, held every five years, honors outstanding teaching faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the classroom. “The Book of Great Teachers honors the very best of our Purdue educators and underscores our commitment to teaching excellence,” says Provost Jay Akridge. “We are grateful to the faculty members inducted this year -- and in years past -- for their devotion to our students, and we thank them on behalf of the countless lives they have influenced through their wisdom and guidance.”