Skip navigation

What We Do

The Sustainable Transportation Systems Research (STSR) group aspires to achieve green, safe, efficient,and equitable transportation systems by studying and modeling transportation externalities (i.e., congestion, crashes, emissions, energy use, and social inequity), using state-of-the-art statistical, econometric, and economic analysis tools.  The group's research thrust revolves around assessing the direct and indirect impacts of proposed transportation solution and emerging technologies, such as bio-based and other alternative fuels, wind power and other alternative energy technologies, transportation electrification, transportation investments and policies, intelligent transportation systems, and connected and automated vehicles.

STSRG's current work is mainly focused on gaining a deeper understanding of the behavioral intention to use existing transportation choices (such as passenger rail and ride-sharing services) as well as emerging energy and mobility choices (such as autonomous/shared autonomous vehicles and electric roadways).  This understanding will enable a more accurate estimation of the anticipated impacts of such technologies.  Of particular interest are the energy and environmental impacts of such technologies, which the research group is currently investigating.  Another aspect of STSRG's current research lies in evaluating the role of transportation-related indicators (such as accessibility, connectivity, redundancy, and others) on community resilience to macro-economic shocks using both empirical data and theoretical models.


Members of the Sustainable Transportation Systems Research Group during the Fall 2020 Semester

Back row from left; Raul Elizondo, Jonathon Sinton, Ricardo Chahine, and Theodora Konstantinou

Front row from left; Sarah Adsit, Arianna Rambaram, Lisa Losada Rojas, Dr. Nadia Gkritza

Members of the Sustainable Transportation Systems Research Group celebrating the end of the Fall 2019 Semester

Back row from left; Christos Gkartzonikas, Yue Ke, and Raul Elizondo

Front row from left; Arianna Rambaram, Lisa Losada Rojas, Sarah Adsit, Dr. Nadia Gkritza, Zimo Zhang, and Theodora Konstantinou