CMUXE People

image Ahmed Hassanein
Director of CMUXE
Paul L. Wattelet & Distinguished Professor of Nuclear Engineering

Tel:  765-496-9731; Fax: 765-496-2233
E mail:
Purdue University, 500 Central Drive, West Lafayette, Indiana 47907


Dr. Ahmed Hassanein, Paul L. Wattelet & Distinguished Professor of Nuclear Engineering, director of CMUXE. Prof. Hassanein has more than 35 years of experience in research and development in the fields of nuclear and plasma physics, engineering, and material science. Prof. Hassanein is nationally and internationally recognized as one of the world's foremost leaders in the area of modeling and benchmarking material responses to different radiation and particle sources. He has developed unique models and comprehensive computer packages as well as state-of-the art experimental facilities to predict material behavior, lifetime issues, plasma evolution, and fluid hydrodynamics under various irradiation conditions. These models and results are being used in several national and international research fields. He has authored more than 500 journal publications and technical report in more than 45 different national and international journals in physics, engineering, materials, and computer science. Before coming to Purdue, Prof. Hassanein was Senior Scientist, Group Leader, and the Director of Fusion Power Program at the Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory. Prof. Hassanein received the IEEE Merit Award for 2013, the highest IEEE technical achievement award of the nuclear and plasma sciences society, for his seminal contributions in these fields. He also received the 2019 IEEE Charles Birdsall Awards for Excellence in Computational Nuclear and Plasma Sciences. He is Fellows of SPIE, AAAS, IEEE, ANS, OSA, APS, and IOP.


Ph.D. Nuclear Engineering (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
M.S. Physics (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
M.S. Nuclear Engineering (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
M.S. Nuclear Engineering (University of Alexandria, Egypt)
B.Sc. Nuclear Engineering (University of Alexandria, Egypt)

Research and academic interests

  • Magnetic and Inertial Fusion Research
  • Computational Physics and Hydrodynamics
  • Plasma Material Interactions
  • Radiation Damage in Materials
  • Advanced Numerical Methods
  • Extreme Ultraviolet Lithography
  • Laser and discharge produced plasma
  • High Power Targets for Accelerators
  • Radiation and Particle Transport in Materials
  • Heat Conduction and Thermal Hydraulics
  • Directed Energy Lethality
  • Biomedical Engineering Applications

Professional Service distinctions and awards
Member/Co-Chair of the following International Committees

  • Fellow, American Nuclear Society (ANS)
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  • Fellow, American Physical Society (APS)
  • Fellow, Institute of Physics (IOP)
  • Fellow, International Society of Optical Engineering (SPIE)
  • Fellow, Optical Society of America (OSA)
  • Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
  • IEEE Merit Award, highest Technical Award of Nuclear & Plasma Science (2013)
  • IEEE Charles Birdsall Award for Excellence in Computational Nuclear and Plasma Sciences (2019)
  • Associate Editor, Laser & Particle Beams
  • Guest Editor, Fusion Engineering and Design, Modeling and Key Issues of Plasma/Surface Interactions in Future Tokamaks, 2002, Vol. 60/4
  • Editor, "Hydrogen and Helium Recycling at Plasma Facing Materials", NATO Science Series, Vol. 54, 2002, Kluwer Academic Publishers
  • Guest Editor, IEEE Transactions on Plasma Science, Special Issue Plenary & Invited Papers from ICOPS 2011", Vol. 40, 5 (2012)

  • Chair and Advisory Member of international committees:
  • (1) Hydrogen Isotopes in Fusion Reactor Materials (Russia); (2) International Innovative Concepts for Plasma-Interactive Components in Fusion Devices (Japan); (3) Interaction of Hydrogen Isotopes with Structural Materials (Russia); (4) International School on Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion (Ukraine); (5) Technology of Fusion Energy (TOFE), USA; (6) Institute of Applied Plasma Science (IAPS), Japan; (7) ExtreMat, European Materials under Extreme Conditions (Germany); (8) EUV Source Technical Working Group (TWG); (9) General Chair of ICOPS 2011;(10) Scientific Advisory Committee of Advanced Research Center for Nanolithography (ARCNL), Netherlands; (11) International Advisory Committee of Laser and Spectroscopy Society of India.