Dr. Yung C. Shin
Director, Center for Laser-based Manufacturing
Professor, School of Mechanical Engineering
Purdue University
Current Personnel
Name Program Research Topic
Neil Bailey Ph.D. Laser welding and surface enhancement
Yunfeng Cao Ph.D. Laser shock peening
Jeongwoo Lee Ph.D. Laser-based material processing
Hyukjoon Kwon Ph.D. Ultrashort pulsed laser-matter interaction
Xiangyang Dong Ph.D. Laser-assisted machining
Kyungmin Hong Ph.D. Laser welding
Christopher Katinas Ph.D. Laser additive processes
Bin Zhang Ph.D. Intelligent control of laser materials processing
Mohammed Gomaa Elkhateeb Ph.D. Laser assisted machining
Weiyong Zhang M.S.M.E. Laser direct deposition
Shashank Sarbada M.S.M.E. Ultrashort laser surface texturing
Abhishek Ajri M.S.M.E. Laser welding
Alysson Boim B.S.M.E. Laser micro machining
Ali Osman Visiting Scholar Laser-assisted machining
Former Students
Name Degree Degree
Current Employer
Xin Zhao Ph.D. 2014 Clemson University
Wenda Tan Ph.D. 2014 The Univ. of Utah
Masiyang Luo M.S.M.E. 2014 Cummings Engine Company
Xiaoyang Ye M.S.M.E. 2014 CGG, US Imaging
Gary Hedberg M.S.M.E. 2013 CENIT North America
J. Michael Wilson M.S.M.E. 2012 CENIT North America
Shaoyi Wen Ph.D. 2012 Univ. of Texas
Hongtao Ding Ph.D. 2012 University of Iowa
Pratik Halani M.S.M.E 2011 Schlumberger
Wenqian Hu Ph.D. 2011 Cummins Engine Company
Chinmaya Dandekar Ph.D. 2010 Eaton Technologies
Jonathan Shelton M.S.M.E. 2008 Sandia National Lab
Benxin Wu Ph.D. 2007 Purdue University
Ritesh Lahkhar M.S.M.E. 2006 Corning
Harsha Pakhal M.S.M.E. 2006 Schlumberger
Yinggang Tian Ph.D. 2006 Saint Gobain
Jeremy Hahn M.S.M.E. 2006 Boeing
Stephen Skvarenina M.S.M.E. 2005 Schlumberger
Mark Anderson M.S.M.E. 2005 Schlumberger
Rahul Patwa M.S.M.E. 2004 Fraunhofer Institute, Ann Arbor
Frank E. Pfefferkorn Ph.D. 2002 University of Wisconsin - Madison
Patrick Rebro M.S.M.E. 2001 Applied Materials Inc.
Shuting Lei Ph.D. 1999 Kansas State University
Jay Rozzi Ph.D. 1997 Creare Inc.
Carl E. Leshock M.S.M.E. 1995 Ford
J. Bill Novak M.S.M.E. 1995 Ford
Former Visiting Scholars and Postdocs
Name Degree Visiting Period Employer
Jie Meng Ph.D. 2013-2014 Chongqing University of Science and Technology
Alessandro Fortunato Ph.D. 2009 Universitą degli Studi di Bologna
Shiva Gadag Ph.D. 2005 SMU
T.J. Um Ph.D. 2004-2005  
C. Zhang Ph.D. 1999-2001 Tianjin University, P.R.C.
J.N. Kim Ph.D. 1993-1994 Samcheok National Univ., Korea

Last revised on Jan. 14, 2015

Copyright © 2001 Dr. Y.C. Shin
Any unauthorized use, copying or mirroring strictly prohibited