Research Highlights

On January 10, 2017, the Rockville Road Bridge was hit by a mobile car crusher destroying four of the 14 load-bearing girders and damaging the bridge deck. INDOT engineers determined the damaged girders should be removed and replaced. In less than 30 hours, I-465 was re-opened after emergency overnight demolition of the damaged girders by Rieth-Riley Construction and Crackers Demolition crew. More
Public Sector Discussion Panel Members: Rachel Hazaray, Tim Wells, Sallie Fahey, Mike Spencer, Sue Scholer, and Bill Davis
On April 19th, members of Indiana Department of Transportation EVOLVE mentoring program and the Joint Transportation Research Program toured the Subaru of Indiana Automotive plant in Lafayette, Indiana. The tour consisted of observing the assembly line build a Subaru vehicle from start to finish, starting with coils of raw steel being stamped and pressed into vehicle parts then later viewing the final test drive of a brand new Subaru. More
2017 Opening Session in Loeb Theater
The 103rd Purdue Road School Transportation Conference and Expo was the largest Road School on record at 2,709 attendees. This year’s event included 155 technical sessions involving 327 speakers and moderators. The program had 164 Professional Development Hours (PDHs) available, including 4 hours of Indiana Statutes and Ethics for Professional Engineers. More
Left: Purdue's Darcy Bullock, John Mott, Lucy Richardson, & Austin Decker INDOTs: Adam French & Marty Blake
Over the past year there has been a strong interest in using unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) for transportation research. More
Group with Neil Armstrong
On December 2nd, JTRP hosted FHWA Indiana Division Administrator Mayela Sosa and her colleagues, Jermaine Hannon, Keith Hoernschemeyer, Jose Ortiz, and Karen Stippich. Highlights of the visit included tours of the Bowen Laboratory, CAI/S-BRITE Center, and Hampton Hall with displayed posters and demonstrations by JTRP researchers. It was a great opportunity to showcase our Purdue partnership with FHWA and INDOT and to discuss future opportunities. More