ICYMI: Alumni News

Distinguished alumni and other awards

ICYMI Alumni News

ICYMI: Alumni News

Gambaro, Skeen Selected As DEA

Ernest "Ernie" Gambaro (BSAAE '60, MSAAE '61) and Tanya Skeen (BSAAE '90) were honored as Distinguished Engineering Alumni, an honor presented to men and women who have distinguished themselves in any field in ways that reflect favorably on Purdue University, the engineering profession or society in general.

Portrait of Ernest

Gambaro (Left), Skeen (Right)

During a virtual ceremony in February 2021, Gambaro was recognized for his "forward-thinking approach to enabling client access to computer mainframes that transformed a computer time share into the world's largest provider of secure data network services to large and mid-size multinationals that provide sales and customer support in over 80 countries."

Skeen was honored for her "exemplary management of complex systems bringing together the United States Armed Forces, consisting of the Air Force, Marine Corps and Navy, as well as eight allied nations to implement affordable and sustainable fifth-generation strike aircraft."

Outstanding Aerospace Engineer Awards

The seven-member Outstanding Aerospace Engineer Class of 2021 was honored during an in-person ceremony in October 2021 at Shively Pavilion.

Outstanding Aerospace Engineer Awards winners

The Outstanding Aerospace Engineer Class Of 2021 (From Left): Daniel Radocaj, Travis Langster, Joseph Cassady, Kevin Metrocavage, Frank Tse And Timothy O'brien. Not Pictured: Audrey Powers. OAE Photo; Dave Mason

The group included:

Joseph Cassady (BSAAE '81, MSAAE '83)

Travis Langster (BSAAE '94)

Kevin Metrocavage (BSAAE '96)

Timothy O'Brien (BSAAE '88)

Audrey Powers (BSAAE '99)

Daniel Radocaj (BSAAE '00, MSAAE '01)

and Frank Tse (MSAAE '82).

AAE honored its OAE Class of 2020 in a virtual ceremony held in April 2021, after the initial banquet was postponed due to COVID-19. The class included Douglas Adams, Christopher Clark, Darin DiTommaso, Douglas Joyce, Yen Matsutomi, Loral O'Hara, David Schmidt, Steve Slijepcevic and Rhonda Walthall.


Return to Aerogram 2021