Internet Systems Lab (ISL)

Contact Us


Current Ph.D. Students
  • Chuan Jiang Topics: Synthesizing network designs with provable performance properties

  • Ehab Ghabashneh Topics: Internet Video, Mobile Networks

  • Zixuan Li Topics: Formal approach to program synthesis

  • Chandan Bothra Topics: Internet video, Data-driven network optimization

  • Syed Usman Jafri Topics: Synthesizing network designs with verifiable performance properties

Current undergraduate students
  • Jagan Krishnasamy (Purdue Computer Engineering, 2021-)
  • Russ Shirey (PhD 2021, first employment: US Air Force)
    (co-advised with Prof. Shreyas Sundaram) Ph.D Topic: Data-Driven and Control Theoretic Approaches for Real-Time Sensor Data Transmission Over Unmanned Aerial Systems Networks

  • Sruthi Panchapakesan (2020) (Masters)

  • Yun Seong Nam (PhD 2020, first employment: Google)
    Ph.D Topic: Characterizing and Optimizing Internet Video Streaming

  • Yiyang Chang (PhD 2019, first employment ByteDance)
    Ph.D Topic: Ensuring Network Designs meet Performance Requirements under Failures

  • Ashiwan Sivakumar (PhD 2017, post-doc School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon; now at AT&T Labs Research)
    Ph.D Topic:Scalable Redundant Proxy Execution for low-latency Web over Cellular Networks

  • Shankaranarayanan Narayanan (PhD 2016, first employment: AT&T Labs Research)
    Ph.D Topic: A Holistic Approach to Lowering Latency in Geo-distributed Web Applications

  • Mohammad Hajjat (PhD 2014, first employment: Microsoft Azure)
    Ph.D Topic: Architecting Delay Sensitive Applications for the Cloud

  • Srivathsava Rangarajan (MS Thesis 2014, first employment: Enova)

  • Xin Sun (PhD 2012, Assistant Professor, Ball State; Winner of NSF Career Research Initiation Initiative Award; previously: Florida International University)
    Ph.D Topic: Towards Systematic Migration of Enterprise Networks

  • Ruben Torres (PhD 2011, first employment: Narus)
    Ph.D Topic: Measurement-Driven Characterization of Emerging Trends in Internet Content Delivery

  • Yu-Wei Eric Sung (PhD 2010, Engineering Manager, Facebook; Network Platforms Team)
    Ph.D Topic: An Abstraction-Driven Approach to Systematic Enterprise Network Design, Configuration and Validation.

  • Sunil Krothapalli (MS Thesis 2009, first employment: Cisco)

  • Karukurichi Kripashankar (MS Thesis 2009, first employment: Amazon)

  • Prashant Garimella (MS Thesis 2008, first employment: Cisco)

  • Michael Bishop (MS Thesis 2006, first employment: Microsoft)

Visiting Researchers
  • Alessandro Finamore (Visiting Ph.D student from Politecnico Di Torino, Italy, Oct 2010 - May 2011)

  • Jose Luis Garcia Dorado (Visiting Assistant Professor from Universidad Aut´┐Żnoma de Madrid, Feb 2014 - July 2014)
Undergraduate Students
Several undergraduate students have worked with our laboratory as part of Purdue's PURE and SURF programs, or as undergraduate research assistants, or for undergradate research credits. Some of the work has led to publications and open source software tools, and has helped students take up both industry positions, and get admitted to top graduate programs.
  • Nathan Cohen (Purdue Computer Science, 2020)
  • Harsh Agarwal (IIT, Hyderabad; PURE program; 2018)
  • Touheed Anwar Atif (IIT, Hyderabad; PURE program; 2016; next stop: Ph.D student, Univesity of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
  • Akash Kumar (2015-16; next stop: Amazon)
  • Zaiwei Zhang (2014-15; next stop: Ph.D student, University of Texas, Austin)
  • Zisheng Liao (2014; Masters, UIUC)
  • Jiawei Wang (2013; next stop: Masters, UPenn)
  • Jinliang Wei (2013; next stop: Ph.D student, Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Samuel Oshin (2011)
  • Brian Crone (2011)
  • Andrew Huff (2011)
  • Upsham Dawra (2010)
  • Kee-Shen Quah (2010; next stop: Masters, University of Michigan)
  • Keywhan Chung (2009; next stop: Ph.D student, University of Illionis, Urbana-Champaign)
  • Suan-Aik Yeo (2009; Nominated by Purdue ECE in Fall 2009 for the Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers award, given by the Computing Research Association. Won the Best Abstract Award in the category Mathematics and Computational Science in the 2010 Purdue Undergraduate Research Poster Symposium.)
  • Ankit Kuwadekar (2008)
  • Amey Rane (2008)

©Copyright 2007 - Internet Systems Lab - Purdue University