Home | My Info and Interests | Resume | Research Team | Teaching |



David J. Love

Nick Trbovich Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, IEEE Fellow
School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Purdue University

EE Building
465 Northwestern Ave.
West Lafayette, IN 47907

Other Affiliations:
NSF IoT4Ag Engineering Research Center

CERIAS - Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security

Office: MSEE 360

(Ph) 765-496-6797

(Fax) 765-494-3358

djlove d@d purdue.edu



- Postdocs:  I currently have two positions available, one focused on wireless communications (for spectrum sensing, learning, and adaptation) and the other focused on machine learning (for communications applications). These positions will be joint with other faculty in Purdue ECE. If you are interested, please send me an email with your CV.
Thrust co-lead for new NSF Engineering Research Center (ERC) for the Internet of Things for Precision Agriculture (IoT4Ag).  The ERC team consists of the University of Pennsylvania (lead), Purdue, Florida, and UC-Merced.  See article.

- Received 2020 IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize for work with Wonjae Shin, Mojtaba Vaezi, Byungju Lee, Jungwoo Lee,  and H. Vincent Poor

- 32nd US patent granted (US # 10,715,278)
- Member of CERIAS Research Leadership Board
- Awarded the 2020 Purdue College of Engineering Faculty Excellence Award for Research

- Purdue Lead for NSF PAWR platform AERPAW 

- 29th (US # 10,291,307), 30th (US # 10,305,557), and 31st (US # 10,305,584) patents issued

- Elected to National Spectrum Consortium Executive Committee

- Our DARPA Spectrum Collaboration Challenge (SC2) team finished in the top five SC2 Preliminary Event #2

- 28th US patent granted (US # 10,158,408)

- Named the Nick Trbovich Professor of ECE at Purdue by the Purdue BoT

- Our DARPA Spectrum Collaboration Challenge (SC2) team finished in the top ten at the SC2 Preliminary Event #1.

- 27th US patent granted (US # 9,504,047)

- Invited participant to 2016 EU-US NAE Frontiers of Engineering Symposium in Helsinki, Finland

- 26th US patent granted (US # 9,391,730)

- Received 2016 IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize in the Field of Communication Theory for work with Sooyoung Hur, Taejoon Kim, Jim Krogmeier, Tim Thomas, and Amitava Ghosh

- 25th US patent granted (US # 9,319,251)

- Our team in the Virginia Tech Spectrum-Sharc competition ranked in the top ten after phase 1.

- Received 2015 IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award for work with Junil Choi and Pat Bidigare

- 24th US patent granted (US # 9,161,247)

- Work recognized at 2015 Purdue Research Foundation Inventors Recognition Reception

- Recognized as a 2015 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher

- Elevated to IEEE Fellow "for contributions to feedback-adaptive wireless communication systems"

- Received Spring 2015 Purdue HKN Outstanding Professor Award

- Recognized as a 2014 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher

According to the criteria, "researchers earned the distinction by writing the greatest numbers of reports officially designated by Essential Science Indicators℠ as Highly Cited Papersóranking among the top 1% most cited for their subject field and year of publication, earning them the mark of exceptional impact."
- Our DARPA Spectrum Challenge team finished #1 out of 90 registered teams during the qualification round.  More coverage.
- Check out work with spectrum policy

Note to prospective students

eXTReMe Tracker