About Aero Assist

Aero Assist is the graduate student organization for the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Purdue University. All graduate students within the School are automatically members. Aero Assist oversees the Research Symposium Series, the Graduate Mentor Program, and helps to keep graduate students in the School up to date with all the important and relevant events and deadlines. Program activities include recreational sports, tailgates, and other activities to improve the graduate student experience in the School. A committee of ten graduate students serves as the leadership team of Aero Assist.

The Aero Assist Constitution (last ratified on March 19, 2012) can be viewed here.  Additionally, a copy of the Aero Assist Bylaws (last updated on March 19, 2012) can be viewed here.

To contact Aero Assist, please e-mail us at aeroassist@ecn.purdue.edu

Current Aero Assist Executive Committee Members

Niranjan Parab

Niranjan Parab



Alden Black

Alden Black



Diane Sorenson

Diane Sorenson


Graduate Student Mentorship Program Chair

Joseph Williams

Joseph Williams


Professional Development/Research Symposium Series Chair

Ernesto Camarena

Ernesto Camarena


Outreach and Departmental Research Symposium Chair




PGSG Senator

Scott Yantek

Scott Yantek


Social and Sports Co-chair

Andrea Nicolas

Andrea Nicolas


Social and Sports Co-Chair

Andy Yu

Andy Yu


Fundraising Chair

Lena Huynh

Lena Huynh 



Aero Assist Committee Members

Aero Assist has various committees to involve graduate students in various leadership roles and allow them to help shape the graduate student experience and program in the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics.  Below are the current committees and their members for the 2013 to 2014 Academic Year.  These committees will be filled out with other graduate aerospace students early in the Fall 2013 semester.

Funding Committee

Andy Yu, Chair

Social and Sports Committee

Andrea Nicolas, Co-Chair
Scott Yantek, Co-Chair

Outreach and Professional Development Committee

Joseph Williams, Chair
Ernesto Camarena, Chair

Mentorship Committee

Diane SorensonChair


Previous Aero Assist Committees

2013 to 2014 – Leadership Committee

Leadership Committee 2013-2014

2012 to 2013 – Leadership Committee


2011 to 2012 – Leadership Committee and All Committee Members

2010 to 2011 – Leadership Committee