Xianfan Xu

James J. and Carol L. Shuttleworth Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (by courtesy)
School of Mechanical Engineering

Birck Nanotechnology Center
Purdue University

West Lafayette, IN 47907-1288

Phone: (765) 494-5639

Email: xxu@purdue.edu


Ph.D., 1994, University of California, Berkeley
M.S., 1991, University of California, Berkeley
B.S., 1989, University of Science and Technology of China

Teaching in Fall 2022:

ME463 Engineering Design

Courses Taught:

ME300: Thermodynamics; ME315: Heat and Mass Transfer; ME463: Engineering Design

ME505: Intermediate Heat Transfer; ME507: Laser Processing; ME587: Engineering Optics
ME604: Diffusion of Heat and Mass; ME606: Radiation

Research Areas:

1) Nanoscale energy transport

- Energy transport in 2D materials (very thin materials of a few atomic layers bounded by van der Waals force which are used for new-generation electronic and photonic devices)

- Greatly enhanced radiation in novel 2D materials and greatly enhanced near-field radiation (radiation between two-closed spaces surfaces), orders of magnitude greater than black body radiation

- Thermoelectric phenomena and application of 2D materials

- Development of thermal switch – turning thermal transport on and off, and rectification – directional control of thermal transport


2) Nano-optics and laser-based nano-optical engineering.  

- Nanoscale rapid, continuous 3D projection printing, and improving printing accuracy and quality through machine learning and artificial intelligence

- Plasmonic sensors, chiral sensors and detectors based on novel 2D materials for bioengineering applications

- Nanoscale optics and near-field scanning optical microscopy with nanometer optical resolution

- High density data storage using nanoscale optical antenna


See group website (https://engineering.purdue.edu/nanolab) for details


Research Positions (for postdoc, new graduate and undergraduate students seeking research projects) click for details   


Awards and Recognitions:

Purdue University College of Engineering Graduate Student Mentorship Award, 2022

Russell Severance Springer Visiting Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, the University of California at Berkeley, 2019-2020

Fellow, Optica (previously OSA), 2017

ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award, 2014

Purdue University School of Mechanical Engineering Ruth and Joel Spira Award, 2013

James J. and Carol L. Shuttleworth Professor of Mechanical Engineering, 2010

Fellow, SPIE, 2009

Discovery in Mechanical Engineering Award, 2009

Fellow, ASME, 2007

B.F.S. Schaefer Young Faculty Scholar Award, 2002

Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, 2000
National Science Foundation Faculty CAREER Award, 1996
GM Faculty Fellowship, 1995



Link to List of Publications


Current Graduate Students:

Paul Somers, Ph.D.

Mauricio Sergovia, Ph.D.

Jason Johnson, Ph.D.

Yikang Chen, Ph.D.

Neil Ghosh, Ph.D.

Venkata Kalyan Vadlamudi, Ph.D.

Anwaral Islam Akash, Ph.D.


Alumni (positions after graduation):

Kevin H. Song, M.S. 1997, Ph.D. 1999, Applied Materials, CA

David Willis, M.S., 1997; Ph.D., 2001, Assist. Prof. the Southern Methodist University

Guofei Chen, Ph.D., 1999,CNH, IL

Xinwei Wang, Ph.D., 2001, Assist. Prof. University of Nebraska, Lincoln, currently Prof., Iowa State University)
Jaewook Ryu, M.S., 2001, Resonetics, NH
Rama Dontha, M.S., 2002, co-advised by Prof. B. Yao, Cummins Engine, IN
Halil Berberoglu, M.S., 2003, Assist.
Prof. UT Austin

X. Richard Zhang, Ph.D., 2004, GE, NY

Joohan Kim, Ph.D., 2004, Assist. Prof. the Seoul National University of Technology

Safa Akbatu, M.S., 2004

Ihtesham H. Chowdhury, M.S., 2002, Ph.D., 2005, Intel, CA

Changrui Cheng, Ph.D., 2006, Butler International, IL

Eric X. Jin, Ph.D., 2006, Headway, CA

Nick Murphy-DuBay, M.S. 2007, Harris Corp., FL

Alex Q. Wu., Ph.D., 2008, Seagate Technology, CA

Liang Wang, Ph.D., 2008, Nanoimprint, TX, currently Prof., University of Science and Technology of China

Sinan Selcuk, Postdoc, 2008, Intel, OR

Rohan Kelkar, M.S., 2008, Roche Diagnostics, IN

Bara Cola, Ph.D., 2009, co-advised by Prof. T.S. Fisher, Prof., Georgia Tech

Sreemanth Uppuluri, Ph.D., 2010, Intel, OR

Se Jun Park, Postdoc, 2010, Sumsung, Korea

Carl Liebig, Postdoc, 2010, Air Force Wright Patterson Research Laboratory, OH

Edward C. Kinzel, Ph.D. 2010, Assist Prof. Missouri Univ Sci Tech, MO, currently University of Notre Dame, IN

Chengjuan Yang, visiting Ph.D. student from Xi’an Jiaotong University

Yaguo Wang, Ph.D. 2011, Assist Prof., Univ. Texas Austin, TX

Pornsak Srisungsitthisunti, Ph.D. 2011, Assist Prof. King Mongkut’s Univ of Tech, Thailand

Xiaolei Wen, visiting Ph.D. student from Univ. Sci. Tech. China

Zhisong Xiao, Visiting Scientist, Prof. Beihang Univ.

Xifeng Ren, Visiting Scientist, Assoc. Prof., Univ. Sci. Tech. China

Xiongfeng Zhu, M.S., PhD student in UCLA

James Mitchell, Ph.D., 2014, Maxim Integrated, OR

Bryan Spann, Ph.D., 2014, NRC Fellow, NRL, DC

Liang Guo, Ph.D. 2014, Postdoc, UC Berkeley, currently Assist. Prof. Southern Univ. Sci. Tech. China

Jianli Wang, Visiting Scholar, Southeast University of China

Yan Li, Ph.D., 2014, Assist. Prof. Shandong University

Sumeet Kumar, Ph.D. 2014, co-advised by Prof. S.D. Heister, KLA-Tencor, CA.

Jianjun Yang, Visiting Scientist, Nankai University

Nan Zhou, Ph.D. 2015, Seagate Technology, MN.

Andrei Dubitsky, M.S., 2015, co-advised by Prof. S.D. Heister, Aerospace Co. CA.

Qiaomu Yao, M.S., 2015, Appfolio Inc., CA.

Zhe Luo, Ph.D. 2016, Seagate Technology, MN.

Woongsik Nam, Ph.D. 2016, Samsung.

Xiaolong He, visiting PhD student from HIT.

Luis Traverso, Ph.D. 2016, Assist. Professor, Universidad del Turabo, Puerto Rico.

Mithun Srinivasan, M.S. 2016, Nimbus Materials, Inc. CA.

Peter Barton, M.S. 2017, Albany International, WI.

Qian Cao, M.S. 2018, Hermes Microvision, CA.

Jithin Prabha, M.S., 2019, ASM International, Novelty, OH.

Anurup Datta, Ph.D., 2019, Assist. Prof., India Institute of Technology Hyderabad.

Zhou Zeng, M.S. 2019, Schlumberger, TX.

Muhammad Abid, 2020, Fulbright Scholar

Vasu Iyer, Ph.D., 2020, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, TN.

Prabhu Kumar Venuthurumilli, Ph.D., 2021, Western Digital, CA

Hakan Salihoglu, Ph.D., 2021, Carnegie Mellon University, PA

Shouyuan Huang, Ph.D. 2022, Apple Inc. CA.