HotPower 2015

HotPower'15: The 2015 Workshop on Power-Aware Computing and Systems will be co-located with the 25th ACM Symposium on Operating Systems Principles (SOSP) on October 4, 2015. HotPower'15 is sponsored by USENIX, the Advanced Computing Systems Association.


HotPower provides a forum to present the latest research and to debate directions, challenges, and novel ideas about building energy-efficient systems, including both traditional platforms ranging from smartphones to datacenters, and emerging platforms such as implantable devices and Internet of Things (IoT). Researchers and practitioners coming from diverse fields such as computer architecture, systems and networking, measurement and modeling, language and compiler design, mobile computing, and embedded systems will have the opportunity to interact with one another, explore cross-cutting ideas, and develop new perspectives from the interactions.

The workshop seeks submissions of early-stage research and novel ideas that will generate interesting discussion, e.g., unconventional, promising ideas with early results. Submissions about first-hand experience, lessons, challenges and problems from building and operating real-world systems are also welcome.

Important Dates

  • Paper submissions due: July 26 July 31, 2015, 8:59 p.m. PDT
  • Notification to authors: August 14, 2015
  • Final papers due: August 30, 2015

Technical Program

The tentative program can be found here.

Workshop Organizers

Program Co-Chairs

  • Y. Charlie Hu, Purdue University
  • Christos Kozyrakis, Stanford University

Program Committee

  • Murali Annavaram, University of Southern California
  • Ranveer Chandra, Microsoft Research
  • Jichuan Chang, Google
  • Saumitra Das, Qualcomm
  • Christina Delimitrou, Stanford University
  • Rodrigo Fonseca, Brown University
  • Matui Gupta, Intel
  • Engin Ipek, University of Rochester
  • Canturk Isci, IBM
  • Benjamin Lee, Duke University
  • Felix Lin, Purdue University
  • Yunxin Liu, Microsoft Research
  • Jason Mars, University of Michigan
  • Abhinav Pathak, Apple
  • Feng Qian, Indiana University
  • Vijay Reddi, University of Texas, Austin
  • Ali Saidi, ARM
  • Weisong Shi, NSF/Wayne State University
  • Anand Sivasubramaniam, Penn State University
  • Qiang Wu, Facebook

Steering Committee Chair


Topics of interest in energy-efficient computing include but are not limited to:

  • Energy-efficiency measurements & benchmarking
  • Power-performance trade-offs
  • Reliability and power management
  • Software optimizations & application design
  • Run-time adaptation, scheduling, feedback control
  • Power-aware computer architecture
  • Energy efficient processors, networks, and storage
  • Server & datacenter design
  • Mobile and embedded systems, IOTs
  • Innovative wearable & mobile devices
  • System-level optimization, cross-layer coordination
  • Renewable energy sources & energy storage
  • Sustainability and life-cycle analysis

Submission Instructions

Submitted papers must be no longer than 5 single-spaced 8.5" x 11" pages, including figures, tables, and references; two-column format, using 10-point type on 12-point (single-spaced) leading; and a text block 6.5" wide x 9" deep. Author names and affiliations should appear on the title page. The class file sig-alternate-hotpower15.cls meets these formatting guidelines. Papers must be in PDF format and must be submitted via the Hotpwer submission website.

Simultaneous submission of the same work to multiple venues, submission of previously published work, or plagiarism constitutes dishonesty or fraud. Papers meeting any of these criteria will be rejected. Authors uncertain whether their submission meets these guidelines should contact the program chairs.

Papers accompanied by nondisclosure agreement forms will not be considered. Accepted submissions will be treated as confidential prior to publication on the HotPower'15 Web site; rejected submissions will be permanently treated as confidential.