ECE 608

Computational Models and Methods

Professor:
Office:
Phone:
Office hours:
Email:
Bob Givan
EE 313C
4-9068
follow this link
givan@purdue.edu
Teaching Assistant:
Office:
Phone:
Office hours:
Email:
Siyuan Xu
EE 168
Read the following link
follow this link
xu1082@purdue.edu

Exams

  • Midterm: Thursday, October 10, in class
  • Final Exam: TBA, during finals week

  • Class content discussions can be found on Piazza

    Handouts and Homeworks

    Accessing the following handouts and homeworks will result in being prompted for your Purdue user ID and password. Access is limited to the Purdue community.

    Course Information txt
    Problem mappings across editions
    --provided as is, no guarantees
    2nd Ed. to 3rd Ed.
    Homework 1
    Due 12 noon, Thursday, August 29, 2019
    Hw1 Solutions
    Homework 2
    Due 12 noon, Tuesday, September 10, 2019
    Hw2 Solutions
    Homework 3
    Due 12 noon, Tuesday, September 17, 2019
    Hw3 Solutions
    Homework 4
    Due 12 noon, Tuesday, September 24, 2019
    Hw4 Solutions
    Homework 5
    Due 12 noon, Tuesday, October 1, 2019
    Hw5 Solutions
    Homework 6
    Due 12 noon, Tuesday, October 15, 2019
    Hw6 Solutions
    Homework 7
    Due 12 noon, Tuesday, October 22, 2019
    Hw7 Solutions
    Sample Midterm
    pdf
    Sample Final
    pdf

    Caveat: The sample exams above are not practice exams but are provided as examples of the style of problem you are likely to encounter. Course coverage may vary semester to semester.

    Lecture Slides

    * Tuesday 8/20/19   Computational models and problems
    * Thursday 8/22/19   Scalability, Loop invariants, Correctness of recursive programs
    * Tuesday 8/27/19   Intro to algorithm analysis
    * Thursday 8/29/19   Mergesort recurrence, Asymptotic notation
    * Tuesday 9/03/19   More asymptotic notation, induction about asymptotic classes
    * Thursday 9/05/19   Mathematical induction, recurrences, master theorem
    * Tuesday 9/10/19   Proof of Master Theorem, Shuffle
    * Thursday 9/12/19   Analyzing randomized algorithms, Indicator variables
    * Tuesday 9/17/19   Randomized algorithms, Heaps
    * Thursday 9/19/19   Heapsort, Quicksort
    * Tuesday 9/24/19   Expected time of Quicksort, Lower bound for comparison sorts
    * Thursday 9/26/19   Linear-time sorts
    * Tuesday 10/01/19   Selection. Introduction to hash tables
    * Thursday 10/03/19   Hash tables: chaining, hash function design, universal hashing
    * Tuesday 10/15/19   Open addressing

    Maintained by Bob Givan and course staff
    givan@purdue.edu