Structural Engineering Seminars

Purdue University, School of Civil Engineering

Fall 2015 ~ Room: CIVL 1144 ~ Tue 4:30-5:20 p.m.

Tentative Schedule – may be modified as per speaker’s request and availability

Updated on 6/2/2015

Week

Seminar Date

Speaker

Affiliation

Topic

1

Tue 25 Aug

Introduction

2

Tue 1 Sep

HOLD for Bowen Lab Safety Training

3

Tue 8 Sep

 

 

 

4

Tue 15 Sep

 

 

 

5

Tue 22 Sep

James Swanson

Halvorson and Partners

BRB and FVD Alternatives to Conventional Steel Brace Outriggers

6

Tue 29 Sep

 

 

 

7

Tue 6 Oct

Jerome Lynch

University of Michigan

TBD

8

Tue 13 Oct

October Break

9

Tue 20 Oct

 

 

 

10

Tue 27 Oct

Chia-Ming Uang

University of California, San Diego

AISC T.R. Higgins Lecture:

A Flexibility-Based Formulation for the Design of Continuity Plates in Steel Special Moment Frames

11

Tue 3 Nov

Vahid Keshavarzzadeh

University of Illinois

TBD

12

Tue 10 Nov

 

 

 

13

Tue 17 Nov

Thomas Boothby

Pennsylvania State University

Engineering Iron and Stone

14

Tue 24 Nov

 

 

 

15

Tue  1  Dec

 

 

 

16

Tue  8  Dec

 

 

 

17

Tue  15  Dec

Final Exams Week

<< Spring 2015

Current

Spring 2016 >>

 

Related Information

•       Seminar room information and photographs.

•       Directions and Lodging information.

•       Shuttle service between Indianapolis airport and West Lafayette/Purdue is provided by the Lafayette Limo.

•       Shuttle service between Chicago O'Hare and West Lafayette/Purdue is provided by the Express Air Coach.

•       Robert L. and Terry L. Bowen Laboratory for Large-Scale Civil Engineering Research and Bowen webcam.

•       Free Parking is available at the Bowen Lab (Address: 1040 S. River Road, West Lafayette, IN 47907). Conveyance from the Lab to the seminar room is also available.

•       Complementary Parking Permits can be arranged upon request. Same day permits can also be purchased online from Parking Facilities office at the Purdue West Shopping Center, 1404 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47906.

•       Structures group in School of Civil Engineering, Purdue University.

 

Contact: Sukru Guzey (guzey@purdue.edu), Arun Prakash (arunprakash@purdue.edu), Ghadir Haikal (ghaikal@purdue.edu)