Structural Engineering Seminars

Purdue University, Lyles School of Civil Engineering

Fall 2016 ~ Room: HAMP 1144 ~ Tue 4:30-5:20 p.m.

Tentative Schedule – may be modified as per speaker’s request and availability

Updated on 9/16/2016

Week

Seminar Date

Speaker

Affiliation

Topic

1

Tue 23 Aug

Introduction/Resources at Purdue

2

Tue 30 Aug

Maria Garlock

Princeton University

Get Fired Up: What Structural Engineers Should Know About Fire Design

(AISC T.R. Higgins Lecture)

3

Tue 6 Sep

 

 

4

Tue 13 Sep

Gene Lamberson

Consulting Engineer

MSE Walls

5

Tue 20 Sep

No Meeting

6

Tue 27 Sep

Gary Klein

Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates (Northbook)

Punching Shear Strength of Beam Ledges

7

Tue 4 Oct

Clay Rodery

BP Corporation North America, Inc.

Process Equipment in the Petroleum Refining Industry

8

Tue 11 Oct

October Break

9

Tue 18 Oct

Barney Martin

Modjeski and Masters, Inc.

TBD

10

Tue 25 Oct

 

 

 

11

Tue 1 Nov

Esteban Anzola

WSP | Parsons Brinkerhoff

TBD

12

Tue 8 Nov

Terry Paret

Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates (San Francisco)

TBD

13

Tue 15 Nov

14

Tue 22 Nov

Shalva Marjanishvili

Hinman Consulting Engineers, Inc.

What Does a Blast Consultant Do?

15

Tue 29 Nov

 

 

 

16

Tue 6 Dec

Thomas Kang

Seoul National University

TBD

17

Tue 13 Dec

Final Exams Week

<< Spring 2016

Current

Spring 2017 >>

 

Related Information

•       Seminar room information and photographs.

•       Directions and Lodging information.

•       Shuttle service between Indianapolis airport and West Lafayette/Purdue is provided by the Lafayette Limo.

•       Shuttle service between Chicago O'Hare and West Lafayette/Purdue is provided by the Express Air Coach.

•       Robert L. and Terry L. Bowen Laboratory for Large-Scale Civil Engineering Research and Bowen webcam.

•       Free Parking is available at the Bowen Lab (Address: 1040 S. River Road, West Lafayette, IN 47907). Conveyance from the Lab to the seminar room is also available.

•       Complementary Parking Permits can be arranged upon request. Same day permits can also be purchased online from Parking Facilities office at the Purdue West Shopping Center, 1404 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47906.

•       Structures group in School of Civil Engineering, Purdue University.

 

Contact: Chris Williams (csw@purdue.edu), Sukru Guzey (guzey@purdue.edu), Arun Prakash (arunprakash@purdue.edu), Ghadir Haikal (ghaikal@purdue.edu)