Structural Engineering Seminars

Purdue University, Lyles School of Civil Engineering

Fall 2017 ~ Room: HAMP 1144 ~ Tue 4:30-5:20 p.m.

Tentative Schedule – may be modified as per speaker’s request and availability

Updated on 8/31/2017

Week

Seminar Date

Speaker

Affiliation

Topic

1

Tue 22 Aug

Introduction

2

Tue 29 Aug

 

 

 

3

Tue 5 Sep

4

Tue 12 Sep

Todd Helwig

The University of Texas at Austin

Effective Bracing for Flexural Members and Systems in Steel Buildings and Bridges

5

Tue 19 Sep

6

Tue 26 Sep

Arne P. Johnson

Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.

Rehabilitation of the Franklin Avenue Bridge

7

Tue 3 Oct

8

Tue 10 Oct

October Break

9

Tue 17 Oct

 

 

 

10

Tue 24 Oct

11

Tue 31 Oct

Predrag L. Popovic

Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc. 

Avoiding Structural Failures – Why Structures Fail?

12

Tue 7 Nov

Armen Derkevorkian

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

TBA

13

Tue 14 Nov

 Mazdak Tootkaboni

University of Massachusetts 

TBA

14

Tue 21 Nov

Chul MinYeum

Purdue University

TBA

15

Tue 28 Nov

Masaki Maeda

Tohoku University

TBA

16

Tue 5 Dec

17

Tue 12 Dec

Final Exams Week

<< Spring 2017

Current

Spring 2018 >>

 

Related Information

       Seminar room information and photographs. 

       Directions and Lodging information.

       Shuttle service between Indianapolis airport and West Lafayette/Purdue is provided by the Lafayette Limo.

       Shuttle service between Chicago O'Hare and West Lafayette/Purdue is provided by the Express Air Coach.

       Robert L. and Terry L. Bowen Laboratory for Large-Scale Civil Engineering Research and Bowen webcam. 

       Free Parking is available at the Bowen Lab (Address: 1040 S. River Road, West Lafayette, IN 47907). Conveyance from the Lab to the seminar room is also available.

       Complementary Parking Permits can be arranged upon request. Same day permits can also be purchased online from Parking Facilities office at the Purdue West Shopping Center, 1404 West State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47906.

       Structures group in School of Civil Engineering, Purdue University.

 

Contact: Mohammad Jahanshahi (jahansha@purdue.edu)