Anaerobic Digestion Technology (ADT)

Background: Outreach for implementation of anaerobic digestion in Indiana


1. Anaerobic digestion has been under accelerating development in recent years;

2. There is an increasing number of people interested in implementing this technology;

3. There is limited awareness of the potential anaerobic digestion benefits and the technical, regulatory, and educational resources;

4. A Task Force of Anaerobic Digestion is needed to accomplish part of the outreach efforts to help stakeholders and the sustainable development of Indiana by:

 engaging in anaerobic digestion development in the state,

 promoting the technology for energy generation, waste management, and water and air quality protection,

 providing educational materials and sharing information (experiences, lessons, benefits, etc.) on anaerobic digestion to a wide audience throughout the state, and

 connecting potential anaerobic digestion users to consulting and engineering resources.


Mission and Responsabilities


The mission of the task force is to develop a report of anaerobic digestion in Indiana.


In fulfilling its mission, task force members have the following responsibilities:


1. To bring a wide diversity of perspective to the task force,

2. To provide guidance and suggestions on the report preparation,

3. To facilitate connections and networking,

4. To gather and provide relevant information and data sources,

5. To review and comment on the report, and

6. To disseminate the results of the task force work.


Task Force Members


The Task Force currently has 24 members from representatives of 20 state agency, commodity group, industry, producer, biogas digester owner, and extension educator, staff, and faculty:


1. Cary Aubrey, Indiana State Department of Agriculture (ISDA), Indianapolis, IN 46204

2. John Hale and Daniela Klesmith, Indiana Department of Environmental Manager (IDEM), Indianapolis, IN 46204

3. Mark Beckman, Rural Development, USDA, Indianapolis, IN 46278

4. Andy Tauer, Indiana Soybean Alliance (ISA), Indianapolis, IN 46278

5. Doug Leman, Indiana Dairy Producers Association, Indianapolis, IN

6. Micheal Zdyb and Dee Cota Northern Indiana Public Service Company (NIPSCO), Merrillville, IN 46410

7. Chris Cummings, MacAllister Power Systems, Indianapolis, IN 46219

8. Kenneth Jones, JPR Jones Petrie Rafinski, Elkhart, IN 46516

9. Norma McDonald, Organic Waste Systems, Inc., Cincinnati, OH 45230

10. Peter H. Grills, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP, Indianapolis, IN 46204

11. Victor Thompson, Star Distributed Energy, Markle, IN 46770

12. David Turner, Turner Tech LLC, Winona Lake, IN 46590

13. Brian Furrer, BioTown Ag. Inc., Reynolds, IN 47980

14. David S. Henderson, Wastewater Treatment Utility, West Lafayette, IN 47906

15. Bryan Overstreet, Purdue Extension Jasper County Office, Rensselaer, IN 47978

16. Robert S. Kelly, Purdue Extension Elkhart County Office, Goshen IN 46528

17. Phil Long, Purdue Extension White County Office, Reynolds, IN 47980

18. Tamilee Nennich, Department of Animal Science, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907

19. Brent Gloy, Department of Agricultural Economics, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907

20. Jiqin (Jee-Chin) Ni, Chad Martin, and Klein Ileleji, Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907

21. Gary Freymiller, Weltec Biopower North America, Hanson, KY 42413

22. Charity Dudley, Wessler Engineering, Indianapolis, IN 46227


Indiana anaerobic digestion task force

Indiana Biomass Energy Working Group Session on April 23 in Das Essenhaus, Middlebury, Indiana. The Indiana Anaerobic Digestion Task Force was established and held its first meeting during the session. (Photo by C. Martin)

Generators at Culver Duck Farms, Indiana