About Us Giving Annual Research Reports School of Mechanical Engineering School of Aeronautics and Astronautics
History Contact Information Map to Maurice J. Zucrow Laboratories Annual Research Reports
Faculty Researchers Staff
John Abraham William Anderson Sally Bane Jun Chen Sanford Fleeter - Research in AeroMechanics and Propulsion (RAMP) Steven Frankel - Computational Fluid Dynamics Laboratory Jay Gore Stephen Heister Nicole Key - High Speed Compressor Research Robert P. Lucht Hukam Mongia Timothee Pourpoint Li Qiao Paul E. Sojka - Atomization and Sprays Laboratory Steven F. Son - Energetic Materials Combustion Laboratory
College of Engineering Aeronautics and Astronautics Agricultural and Biological Engineering Biomedical Engineering Chemical Engineering Civil Engineering Construction Engineering and Management Electrical and Computer Engineering Engineering Education Engineering Professional Education Environmental and Ecological Engineering Industrial Engineering Materials Engineering Mechanical Engineering Nuclear Engineering
EPICS (Engineering Projects In Community Service) First-Year Engineering Program First-Year Engineering Honors Program Global Engineering Program Minority Engineering Program Professional Practice (Co-Op) Program Women in Engineering Program
College Administration Schools Programs All Groups All People ECN Webmail
Purdue Home

Prof. Robert P. Lucht Elected to AIAA Fellow

Event Date: January 14, 2014
Congratulations to Prof. Robert P. Lucht who has been elected as a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Prof. Lucht is the Ralph and Bettye Bailey Professor of Combustion in Mechanical Engineering and received his PhD from Purdue in 1981. His area of research include Combustion, Energy Utilization, and Thermodynamics. Fluid Mechanics & Propulsion, Systems, Measurement, and Control.

The distinction of Fellow is conferred by AIAA upon outstanding members of the Institute who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. AIAA President Michael Griffin stated: “Being named a Fellow of AIAA is among the highest honors that can be bestowed upon an aerospace professional, and represents recognition from colleagues and peers for significant and longstanding contributions to our community. And beyond that, recognition as an AIAA Honorary Fellow elevates one to the very pinnacle of our profession. This year’s selection committee has done an outstanding job of identifying those who meet these standards. I congratulate each member of this year’s class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows.”

AIAA is the world’s largest technical society dedicated to the global aerospace profession. With more than 35,000 individual members worldwide, and 90 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense.  In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry.

Presentation of the certificates and pins will take place at the AIAA Fellows Dinner on Tuesday April 29, 2014 and the honored recipients will also be recognized at the Spotlight Awards Gala, Wednesday, April 30, 2014 at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, in Washington, D.C.

More information regarding Prof. Lucht can be found here.