News and Events

  • Congratulations to Thomas Antony for his appointment as a visiting researcher at the Mathematical and Modeling Optimization Institute at Eglin AFB. His work will focus on the development of a Generalized Chebyshev-Picard Iteration Algorithm for Large Scale Swarm Trajectory Optimization.
  • Congratulations to Megan Youngs for her appointment as Spacecraft Systems Engineer at The Aerospace Corporation.
  • See Max Fagin interviewed about his Mars aspirations here.
  • Congratulations to Prof. Michael Grant for receiving the 2015 Bruhn Best Teacher Award. This award is based on voting by AAE’s sophomores, juniors, and seniors.
  • The Inspiration Mars Student Design Contest 1st place trophy has arrived to Purdue AAE (shown with the student vehicle mockup). Video of the design and awards ceremony can be found here.
Inspiration Mars Trophy
  • Congratulations to Megan Youngs for graduating with her MS.
  • Our cloud computing design framework was recently featured in the ITaP Research Computing news!
  • Congratulations to Thomas Antony for successfully defending his MS Thesis titled, “Rapid Indirect Trajectory Optimization on Highly Parallel Computing Architectures."
  • See Max Fagin featured in the Popular Science article, “Why Thousands of People Are Willing To Die On Mars."
  • Congratulations to Kshitij Mall for being selected as a 2013-2014 Golden Key Chapter Scholarship recipient.
  • Congratulations to Kshitij Mall, Max Fagin, and other Purdue students on Team Kanau for being selected as finalists for the Inspiration Mars Student Design Contest.
  • Congratulations to Harish Saranathan and Mughilan Ramasamy who completed their Masters in May 2013.
  • Congratulations to Kshitij Mall who is participating in an exchange program with the Graduate School of System Design and Management at Keio University, Tokyo, Japan.
  • Congratulations to Kshitij Mall who completed his Masters in December 2013. He is continuing as a PhD student in the laboratory.
  • Congratulations to Prof. Michael Grant for receiving the 2013 W.A. Gustafson Award for Outstanding Teaching in the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics. The recipient is selected by the juniors and seniors of the student body for excellence in teaching and made possible by the interest and generosity of friends and alumni of the school.

Michael J. Grant 2014
Special thanks to Petronio Bendito for logo creation.