Eckhard A. Groll

Eckhard A. Groll approved by board for the Reilly Professor of Mechanical Engineering.

Trustees Ratify Appointments

The Purdue University Board of Trustees on Friday (May 10) ratified appointments of five named and distinguished professors at the West Lafayette campus and approved a new health studies program at Purdue North Central.

The board approved Timothy S. Fisher as the James G. Dwyer Professor in Mechanical Engineering, Eckhard A. Groll as the Reilly Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Kathleen Howell as the Hsu Lo Distinguished Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Alyssa Panitch as the Leslie A. Geddes Professor in Biomedical Engineering, and Kaushik Roy as the Edward G. Tiedemann Jr. Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering.


Eckhard Groll

Groll has been at Purdue since 1994 when he was appointed assistant professor of mechanical engineering. He was appointed associate professor in 2000 and professor in 2005. Since 2008 he has been director of the Office of Professional Practice in the College of Engineering. From 2005-2008 he was director of global initiatives, cooperative education and professional experiences in the School of Mechanical Engineering. He served as interim assistant dean of engineering for research in 2012.

His research focuses on fundamental thermal sciences as applied to advanced heating, ventilating, air conditioning and refrigeration systems, components and their working fluids.

He is a fellow of the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers and also has won that organization's E.K. Campbell Award and the Distinguished Service Award. He is a Purdue Faculty Scholar and was inducted into the Book of Great Teachers at Purdue in 2008. He also received the Wilbur T. Pentzer Achievement and Leadership Award from the International Institute of Refrigeration. He serves on the editorial board of the International Journal of Refrigeration and is on the board of directors for the IIR and the ASHRAE.

Groll earned his bachelor's degree from Ruhr University in Bochum, Germany, and his doctorate from the University of Hannover in Hannover, Germany.  More information, please click here.