INSGC - Indiana Space Grant Consortium

NASA Explorer Schools Receive Honors

NASA has recognized 12 NASA Explorer Schools from 11 U.S. states for their contributions to science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) education in the 2012-2013 school year. All 12 schools will receive a NASA certificate of recognition that includes an American flag that was flown in space. Six of the 12 also submitted successful proposals to a recent NASA Explorer Schools solicitation and will receive a $5,000 grant to help implement a STEM project in their classrooms by April 2014.
The schools identified as leaders in STEM education and selected to receive a NASA Explorer Schools Honor Award are:
  • Forest Lake Technology Magnet, Columbia, S.C.
  • Academy of Information Technology and Engineering, Stamford, Conn.
  • Woodrow Wilson Middle School, Glendale, Calif.
  • Mack Benn Jr. Elementary School, Suffolk, Va.
  • Franke Park Elementary School, Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Ferndale Middle School, High Point, N.C.
The six schools also receiving a $5,000 grant are:
  • Cardinal Gibbons High School, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Northland Preparatory Academy, Flagstaff, Ariz.
  • Stoney Creek High School, Rochester Hills, Mich.
  • St. Mary's Visitation School, Elm Grove, Wis.
  • Corpus Christi Catholic School, Chambersburg, Pa.
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Germantown, Tenn.

To read more about this article, click on the link below:


NASA Schools Receive Honors