Dale Compton awarded George E. Pake Prize by American Physical Society

Dale Compton
Dale Compton, IE Professor Emeritus, has been awarded the 2014 George E. Pake Prize "For exemplary leadership of corporate automotive R&D at a critical time for the industry and for important individual achievements in experimental solid state physics."

This prize was endowed in 1983 by the Xerox Corporation in recognition of the outstanding achievements of George E. Pake, as a research physicist and a director of industrial research.  It recognizes and encourages outstanding work by physicists combining original research accomplishments with leadership in the management of research or development in industry.

The American Physical Society (APS) is a non-profit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy and international activities. APS has over 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world.