Skip navigation

Advisory Committee

Cooperating Organizations    
Name Title Affiliation
Dr. Karim Amrane Vice President, Regulatory & Research Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute, USA (AHRI)
Dr. Andreas Athienitis Professor and Concordia Research Chair Tier I Scientific Director of NSERC Solar Buildings Research Network, Concordia University, Canada
Chip Barnaby IBPSA President International Building Performance Simulation Association
Mr. Brian Fricke Distinguished Research Staff Member, Building Equipment Research, Energy and Transportation Science Division Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Mr. Didier Coulomb Director International Institute of Refrigeration, France (IIR)
Ron Domitrovic Program Manager, Energy Efficiency Electric Power Research Institute
Ullrich Hesse President, DKV Deutscher Kalte-und Llimatechnischer Verein e. V. 
Mr. Glenn Hourahan  Senior Vice President, Research & Technology Air-Conditioning Contractors of America, USA
Dr. Ji-Hwan Jeong Professor, Pusan National University, South Korea SAREK
Akio Miyara, D. Eng. Professor, Saga University Japan Society of Refrigerating & Air Conditioning Engineers
Mr. Brendan Owens Vice President, Lead Technical Development U.S. Green Building Research Program, USA
Mr. Michael Vaughn Manager of Research and Technical Services ASHRAE, USA
Mr. Van D. Baxter Distinguished Research Staff Member, Building Equipment Research, Energy and Transportation Science Division IEA Heat Pump Center
Ad-Hoc Members    
Name Title Affiliation
Dr. Stefan Bertsch Professor and Head, Institute for Energy Systems Interstate University of Applied Sciences Buchs, Switzerland 
Mr. Sergio Bobbo CNR Instituo per le Tecnologie della Construzione, Sezione di Padova, Italy
Mr. Doug Collings Director, N.A. Test Laboratories Tecumseh Products Company
Dr. Rob Comparin VP Research Emerson Climate Technologies, GmbH
Prof. Cesar J. Deschamps Professor Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Dr. Ir. Carlos Infante Ferreira Faculty of Mechanical, Maritime & Materials Engineering Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands 
Mr. Gene Fields VP of Global Compressor Technologies Johnson Controls, Inc.
Dr. Mitsuhiro Fukuta Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering  Shizuoka University, Japan
Dr. Andrea Gasparella Faculty of Science & Technology Libera Universita di Bolzano
Dr. Andreas Gernemann Director of Advanced Engineering Danfoss Commercial Compressors Division, Germany
Mr. Evandro Francisco Gon R&D Director Embraco S.A., Brazil
Dr. Zhaolin Gu Professor and Executive Dean, School of Human Settlements and Civil Engineering Xi'an Jiaotong University, P.R. of China
Mr. Bill Hooper Research & Development Manager Kawneer Company, Inc. (Alcoa Building & Construction Systems)
Mr. Joseph Karnaz Technical Director Shrieve Chemical Products, Inc.
Dr. Vincent Lemort B49 Thermodynamics Laboratory Quartier Polytech 1
Dr. Stephen B. Memory Director, Thermal & Mechanical Technology A.O. Smith Corporate Technology Center, USA
Mr. Kevin Mercer Staff Engineer, Thermal Systems Technology Group Carrier Corp., United Technologies
Dr. William E. Murphy Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of Engineering Extended Campus Programs  University of Kentucky - Paducah, USA
Mr. Andrew Pearson Managing Director Star Refrigeration Ltd., Scotland
Mr. Gordon Powell Compressor Center of Excellence Ingersoll Rand - Trane, USA
Dr. Brent Protzman Manager - Energy Information and Analytics Lutron Electronics, USA
Dr. Joaquim Rigola Associate Professor, Heat and Mass Transfer Technological Center Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Dr. Frank Rinne  Director Application Engineering Emerson Climate Technologies, GmbH
Dr.-Ing. Jurgen Suess Leiter Operations (Leader of Operations) Efficient Energy GmbH, Germany
Dr. Bob Turney Engineering Fellow and Team Lead, Technology and Advanced Development Building Efficiency Johnson Controls Inc., USA
Dr. Ruzhu Wang Professor and Director, Engineering Research Center for Solar Energy Shanghai Jiaotong University, P.R. of China
Mr. John Withouse RAC Refrigerants - Sr. Principal Engineer Sporlan Division of Parker Hannifin
Mr. Jun Yang Department Manager of Product Development, R&D Center Shanghai Hitachi Electrical Appliances Co., Ltd., P.R. of China