Remarkable Impact - 2012 Distinguished Engineering Alumni/Alumnae

DEA awardees
Each year, the College of Engineering recognizes distinguished alums for their exceptional achievements, contributions and impact. The College of Engineering has more than 82,000 living alums and the distinction of DEA has been bestowed upon 479 of these outstanding individuals.
Congratulations to the 2012 recipients.

Kristi S. Anseth

Kristi S. Anseth, BSChE ’92
Tisone Distinguished Professor of Chemical
and Biological Engineering, University of Colorado

In 2008, Anseth was named a distinguished professor,
the youngest in history at the University of Colorado. The same year, Popular Science named her one of the “Brilliant Ten,” and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers included her in the “One Hundred Chemical Engineers of the Modern Era.” She has also been elected to the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. Anseth was recognized for her technical and academic accomplishments and breakthrough work in the field of biomaterials and tissue engineering. 

Douglas l. Bowers

Douglas l. Bowers, BSAAE ’72
Director, Propulsion Directorate, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory

Responsible for $4 billion in research facilities dedicated to power, propulsion, aero, controls and structural sciences, Bowers has found an edge in innovation. He was recently named the acting director of the Air Vehicles Directorate. In these dual director roles, he’s helping consolidate those organizations into the new Aerospace Systems Directorate. He was recognized for his extraordinary technical, policy and managerial leadership accomplishments with the U.S. Air Force. 

John R. Chiminski

John R. Chiminski, MSEE ’87
President and CEO, Catalent Pharma Solutions

Chiminski is a leader in the complex world of health care technology, providing advanced drug-delivery solutions to pharmaceutical, biotech and consumer companies in nearly 100 countries. Three Big Ten degrees helped him climb the ranks at GE Healthcare and work on the first multi-slice CT scanner. In 2006, Chiminski was honored as the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering’s outstanding alumnus. Chiminski was recognized for his leadership and success in the health care field and outstanding support of education. 

Glen T. Daigger

Glen T. Daigger, BSCE ’73, MSCE ’75, PhD ’79
Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, CH2M Hill

As senior vice president and chief technology officer of CH2M Hill, Daigger has contributed to the field of environmental engineering. He is an internationally recognized expert in wastewater treatment and water quality management for municipal and industrial systems. Volunteer president of the International Water Association and member of the National Academy of Engineering, Daigger was recognized for his innovative contributions to the field of environmental engineering and his international role in water resource policy issues. 

Jack A. Hockema

Jack A. Hockema, BSCE ’68, MS Management ’70
President, CEO and Chairman, Kaiser Aluminum Corp.

His prestigious career in civil engineering and the metal industry has led him to his current position as president, CEO and chairman of Kaiser Aluminum Corp. His early career was spent as a successful manager at various aluminum companies, and he continues to lead. As president of Kaiser Aluminum Corp., Hockema has restructured the business and resolved about $4 billion of liabilities. He was recognized for his leadership success and a distinguished career in civil engineering and the metal industry. 

Janice E. Voss

Janice E. Voss, BS Engineering Science ’75
Payloads Lead, Astronaut Office, NASA Johnson Space Center

Voss was recognized posthumously for her pioneering and record-setting achievements in the U.S. space program and her commitment to engineering and science education. Voss’ many accomplishments include traveling a total of 18.8 million miles through space, supervisor of 22 experiments in the first commercial laboratory module in space and payload commander in charge of 33 experiments on Columbia. 

Dennis E. Warner

Dennis E. Warner, BSAAE ’73, MSME ’76
President and CEO, Aero Engine Controls North America

As president and CEO of Aero Engine Controls (AEC) North America, Warner has doubled the size of the company as
AEC grows in capability, providing engine control systems engineering services and products for Rolls-Royce propulsion and power systems. In leadership roles at Rolls-Royce, he has guided the company through economic challenges and changing industry. Warner was honored for his technical and managerial leadership for numerous important engine programs for defense and commercial applications.