Apollo 11 50th Anniversary Celebration

Event Date: July 18, 2019
Time: All day
Location: Purdue Airport, Archives, and Armstrong Hall
Contact Name: Stephanie McKinley
Contact Phone: 49-45178
Priority: No
School or Program: College of Engineering
College Calendar: Show
July 18 - 20

The College of Engineering Presents a Day of Special Events—Thursday, July 18

In conjunction with Purdue’s Celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the Historic Apollo 11 Lunar Landing

1 p.m.

Purdue Engineering Initiative in Cislunar Space Announcement and Reception

Armstrong Hall Atrium

This initiative will provide important national leadership in extending humanity’s reach beyond Earth’s orbit. Meet the advisory board members including NASA Astronaut David Wolf, Virgin Galactic Chief Astronaut Instructor Beth Moses, and CEOs and executives from Astranis, Harris Corp., Blue Origin, Lockheed Martin, Ball Aerospace, Astrobotic Technology, and the Coalition for Deep Space Exploration.

3 p.m.

“Go or No Go: The Untold Story of the Apollo 11 Moon Landing”

Featuring keynote speaker Gene Kranz, Apollo 11 and Apollo 13 flight director. Followed by a 30-minute Q&A with the audience. 

Loeb Playhouse (Sold out)

A livestream of the talk will be shared in two overflow rooms. Doors open at 2:30 p.m. No ticket is required, and seating is first come, first served.

  • Wetherill Laboratory of Chemistry, Room 200
  • Wilmeth Active Learning Center, Room 1055

7 p.m.

"Some of the Many Dimensions of Space: Exploration, Commercial, and National Security"

A panel discussion featuring members of the User Advisory Group (UAG) to the National Space Council

Stewart Center - Fowler Hall

(The event is free, but a ticket is required for admission) 

Panelists include:

Adm. James O. Ellis Jr., chairman of the UAG, completed his 39-year navy career in 2004 as command and control of United States strategic and space forces. Ellis is a graduate of the Navy Test Pilot School and the Navy Fighter Weapons School, and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2013.

Mary Lynne Dittmar, president and CEO of the Coalition for Deep Space Exploration, has served as a senior adviser to NASA, the DoD, and the FAA. Dittmar was appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation to the Commercial Space Transportation Advisory Committee for the FAA and is currently a member of the Executive Committee of the Space Studies Board of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine.

Mandy Vaughn, president of Vox Space. Vaughn previously worked as senior director of business development and mission management at Vox Space’s parent company Virgin Orbit. She also worked for General Dynamics Mission Systems Space and Intelligence Systems Directorate, and General Dynamics.

David Wolf (BSEE ’78), a 28-year NASA veteran and astronaut who spent 168 days in space and conducted seven spacewalks over four separate missions. Wolf is a medical doctor, electrical engineer and inventor with 17 U.S. patents. He was named NASA Inventor of the Year.