Three CoE faculty receive Purdue teaching awards

Three College of Engineering faculty members are among seven Purdue professors to receive 2014 Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards and the first Exceptional Early Career Awards.

Receiving Murphy Awards are:

  • Kathleen Howell, the Hsu Lo Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and
  • W. Jason Weiss, the Jack and Kay Hockema Professor of Civil Engineering

Cary Troy, assistant professor of civil engineering, was awarded the inaugural Exceptional Early Career Award. All three recipients were notified of their awards last week (March 28), and each will be featured in Purdue Today in mid-April.

The University's highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue's Teaching Academy, which provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

The Exceptional Early Career Award was created by the Office of the Provost and the Murphy Award selection committee to recognize outstanding undergraduate teaching among Purdue's early career, tenure-track faculty. Recipients of the award receive $5,000 and additional funds for a department business account.