Qiao receives AFOSR award

Dr. Li Qiao
Li Qiao, assistant professor of aeronautics and astronautics, with a courtesy appointment in the School of Mechanical Engineering, has received a grant from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research through its Young Investigator Research Program.

The Air Force Office of Scientific Research will award approximately $15 million in grants to 40 scientists and engineers who submitted winning research proposals through the program.

The YIP is open to scientists and engineers at research institutions across the United States who received Ph.D. or equivalent degrees in the last five years and show exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research.

The objective of this program is to foster creative basic research in science and engineering, enhance early career development of outstanding young investigators, and increase opportunities for the young investigators to recognize the Air Force mission and the related challenges in science and engineering.

This year AFOSR received 192 proposals in response to the AFOSR broad agency announcement solicitation in major areas of interest to the Air Force. These areas include: aerospace, chemical and material sciences; physics and electronics; and mathematics, information and life sciences. AFOSR officials select proposals based on the evaluation criteria listed in the broad agency announcement.

Prof. Qiao will receive about $360K for three years for her proposed research “Combustion Chemistry and Dynamics in Nanoscale Confined Environments”. This research will examine the new physics of combustion in a nanoscale environment, a combustion regime that has rarely been explored. It has the potential to open a new door to decades of future scientific discovery and technological innovations in nanoscale combustion.

Prof. Qiao received her BS and MS degrees in Engineering Mechanics from Tsinghua University and her PhD in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Michigan. She was a recipient of the Army Research Office Young Investigator Award in 2010.