Four CoE faculty are named University Faculty Scholars

The Office of the Provost recently announced the 2014 University Faculty Scholars, four of whom are from the College of Engineering.

They are:

Photo of Alexandra Boltasseva
Alexandra Boltasseva, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering
Photo of Zheng Ouyang
Zheng Ouyang, associate professor of biomedical engineering and electrical and computer engineering
Photo of Gregory Shaver
Gregory Shaver, associate professor of mechanical engineering
Photo of Lia Stanciu
Lia Stanciu, associate professor of materials engineering

University Faculty Scholars are select associate and full professors who have been in that rank for no more than five years and are on an accelerated path toward academic distinction. In the College of Engineering, they are nominated by committees from their academic areas, and reviewed and recommended by a subcommittee of the College's named and distinguished professors. The dean then makes the selection and requests approval by the provost. Faculty scholars are appointed for a nonrenewable five-year term and receive an annual $10,000 discretionary allocation. The University Faculty Scholar program was created at Purdue in 1998.