Skip navigation

Alumnus to receive AIChE Bailey award

Eleftherios (Terry) Papoutsakis
Eleftherios (Terry) Papoutsakis
Eleftherios (Terry) Papoutsakis (MS 1977, PhD 1980) will receive the 2012 James E. Bailey Award at the 2012 AIChE annual meeting Oct. 28 - Nov. 2 in Pittsburgh. Papoutsakis is the Eugene DuPont Chair in both the Chemical Engineering Department and the Delaware Biotechnology Institute at the University of Delaware.

His research focuses on areas of systems biology, metabolic engineering, experimental and computational genomics with applications in stem-cell biology and prokaryotic biology for the production of biofuels and chemicals from biomass.

The Bailey award is given to individuals who have made important impacts on bioengineering that have advanced the profession. Recipients also have a distinguished record of service to the profession.