Skip navigation

Two Engineering professors elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

The College of Engineering celebrates the election of Mark. S. Lundstrom and Doraiswami Ramkrishna into the National Academy of Engineering.

Mark. S. Lundstrom, the Don and Carol Scifres Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, whose research is in the area of semiconductor device physics, change carrier transport, computational electronics, physics and limits of nanotransistors, was elected “for leadership in microelectronics and nanoelectronics through research, innovative education, and unique applications of cyberinfrastructure.”
Doraiswami Ramkrishna, the Harry Creighton Peffer Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering, whose research is motivated by ideas in the application of mathematics to solving problems in chemical and biochemical reaction engineering, biotechnology and biomedical engineering, was elected “for creation of new model concepts and solutions that improved the engineering of biological and particulate processes.”

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

View the list of the College of Engineering's NAE Members

Full story from the University News Service

Related story from the NAE web site