From the Dean

As the dean of the College of Engineering, I have the pleasure and privilege of leading this great institution on its journey to preeminence. If you've been on Purdue's campus lately, you've surely noticed a physical transformation in progress as new buildings spring up all around us. Many of those new buildings are Engineering's, and they're a bricks-and-mortar manifestation of our vision to make an already superior engineering program the best in the country. Our new faculty members also form a highly visible sign of our vision and growth.

In the past five years, we've filled more than 50 new positions as we pursue our goal of increasing faculty size by 95, to 395.

Purdue Engineering's journey to preeminence reflects remarkable progress, with one indicator being our No. 9 ranking by U.S. News and World Report this year. Propelled by our successes so far, and guided by an ambitious strategic plan, we're pushing forward with key priorities: to leverage our strength in undergraduate education, to further expand and strengthen our faculty, to increase our excellence in research, to improve the quality of our graduate programs, to complete the improvements to our facilities and environment, and to continue our deep commitment to increasing diversity among our students and faculty.

Why? Because in achieving these goals, Purdue Engineering makes a difference. We bring the best minds to bear on a number of our world's most pressing challenges-energy, the environment, health care-and create solutions that contribute to society's prosperity and well-being. That is the ultimate goal.

It's my privilege to work with the College's Engineering Leadership Team, as well as all the outstanding people associated with Purdue Engineering, as we go forward.

Dean Leah H. Jamieson is the John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering / Ransburg Distinguished Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering. A co-founder and past director of Purdue's EPICS (Engineering Projects in Community Service) program, Dr. Jamieson is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and is the 2007 President and CEO of the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineering. Her research interests include computer engineering, signal processing, and engineering education.