Skip navigation

Celebrating Our People

One of the three goals in the College of Engineering’s strategic plan is “empowering our people, enriching our culture.” We’re proud of our faculty members who are global leaders in professional and academic circles—we count dozens of National Academy of Engineering members, National Medical of Technology and Innovation recipients, and National Science Foundation CAREER award winners among our ranks. In addition to external recognition, many have been honored internally as Distinguished Professors, Faculty Scholars, Named Professors and Named University Professors.

We also honor both faculty and staff annually with College of Engineering Awards of Excellence and Teaching Awards:

  • Faculty Awards: Each spring, we present outstanding faculty members with excellence awards in the areas of advising, engagement/service, leadership, mentoring, research and early career research—as well as one team award.
  • Staff Awards: Outstanding staff members are recognized each fall. Excellence awards are given to a team, a new employee and individuals in the categories of leadership, professional achievement and customer service.
  • Teaching Awards: Each school within the College of Engineering has a nomination process based primarily on student input. Nominees are evaluated by the standing Awards Committee for the annual A. A. Potter Best Teacher in Engineering award. The committee also selects the College of Engineering's nominee for the annual university Murphy Outstanding Teaching Award and Exceptional Early Career Teaching Award.
  • Faculty Scholars: University Faculty Scholars are select associate and full professors who have been in that rank for no more than five years and are on an accelerated path toward academic distinction. University Faculty Scholars receive additional funding to support their research. The University Faculty Scholar program was created at Purdue in 1998.
  • Named Professors: The practice of awarding named professorships emphasizes the College’s and University’s commitment to excellence in discovery, learning and engagement. Faculty recipients of these awards should be outstandingly original, creative and productive individuals whose achievements have been internationally recognized or who have made unique contributions to the University through discovery, learning and/or engagement.