Jump to page content

Antonios Mikos (MS 1985, PhD 1988), Elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies

Antonios Mikos (MS 1985, PhD 1988), Elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies

Magazine Section: Always
College or School: CoE
Article Type: Article
Antonios Mikos (MS 1985, PhD 1988) was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. He is recognized “for seminal contributions and visionary leadership in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine.”
Antonios Mikos

This recognition follows Prof. Mikos' election to the NAE earlier this year. He is now among the very few scientists and engineers who have been elected to two different National Academies.

Prof. Mikos is the Louis Calder Professor of Bioengineering and Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Rice University. In addition, he is Director of the Center for Excellence in Tissue Engineering at Rice University.

Prof. Mikos' research focuses on the synthesis, processing, and evaluation of new biomaterials for use as scaffolds for tissue engineering, as carriers for controlled drug delivery, and as non-viral vectors for gene therapy. His work has led to the development of novel orthopaedic, dental, cardiovascular, neurologic, and ophthalmologic biomaterials. An author of over 420 publications and 25 patents, he has been cited more than 28,000 times.

Prof. Mikos is the editor-in-chief of Tissue Engineering, the premier journal of the field, and serves on several other journal editorial boards. He is currently President of the North American Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society and has co-authored the premier textbook on biomaterials. His previous recognitions include the Founders Award of the Society for Biomaterials, AIChE's Alpha Chi Sigma Award and the Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Award, and ASEE's Meriam/Wiley Distinguished Author Award and the Chemstations ChE Lectureship Award. He received our School's Outstanding Chemical Engineer Award in 2008.