Skip navigation

ENE Memo: April 16, 2012

From the Head: 4/16

Many Reasons to Celebrate

At their April meeting last Friday, the Purdue Board of Trustees approved the promotion of Matt Ohland to Full Professor, the first such since ENE was formed. Congratulations, Matt!. He was also elected as a Fellow of ASEE last week. A big week!

The BOT also approved tenure for Ruth Streveler and promotion to Associate Professor. Congratulations, Ruth!

Last year the BOT approved the first three ENE faculty to be tenured and promoted to Associate Professor on the basis of research and scholarship in engineering education: Robin Adams, Sean Brophy and Monica Cox. Previously, Bill Oakes was tenured and promoted in 2004, Heidi Diefes-Dux in 2005, and PK Imbrie in 2006. Last week we celebrated the approval by the BOT of the establishment of ENE in April 2004.

Also last week, Bill Oakes was announced as the winner of this year's ASEE Chester F. Carlson Award for Innovation in Engineering Education. Congratulations, Bill!

These are not only important professional milestones for the individuals concerned but also evidence that ENE is becoming firmly recognized as a discipline-based school.

Another indicator of the forward movement of the discipline of engineering education is that our sister department at Utah State is planning to hire five or six additional faculty over the next two to three years. Over the past few months, there has been one or more jobs on the PRISM classifieds under the heading "Engineering Education," alongside the entries for traditional disciplines. So opportunities are opening up. Our colleagues at University Technologi Malaysia (UTM) have now graduated seven people from their PhD program in engineering education; this effort has been aided through support and guidance over the past four years by a number of ENE faculty including Karl Smith, Johannes Strobel, Heidi Diefes-Dux, and Ruth Streveler.  

These are all important signs that the vision of engineering education based on research and scholarship is coming of age. While there is still much work to be done, it is very encouraging that we are hearing such positive news on a range of fronts all in one week.


News and Information: 4/16

INSPIRE's Journal of Pre-College Engineering Education Research (J-PEER) has published its latest issue: Vol. 2, Issue 1. Check it out at

Purdue's student chapter of the American Society for Engineering Education has elected new officers. Congratulations to Nick Fila (President), Emily Dringenberg (Vice President), Jaqi McNeil (Treasurer), and Joi-Lynn Mondisa (Secretary)!

Purdue has been recognized with a 2012 Governor's Workplace Safety Award, an honor collaboratively presented by the Indiana Department of Labor on behalf of Gov. Mitch Daniels, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, and the Central Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Safety Engineers. The direct collaboration of University departments and safety committees with REM (Radiological and Environmental Management)staff has resulted in the establishment of a culture of safety that actively engages members of the campus community in safety awareness and assessment activities, says Carol Shelby, Purdue's senior director of environmental health and public safety. Read more on the award here. For information on ENE's safety committee and processes, click here.

Purdue Engineering's new Diversity Lecture Series features Dr. Arthur J. Bond (BSEE '68, MSEE '69, PhD '74, HDR '09), founding member of the National Society of Black Engineers and Dean Emeritus of Engineering and Technology at Alabama A&M, providing the inaugural lecture on Thursday, April 26, at 2pm in Armstrong Hall's Kurz Atrium. Reception to follow. To RSVP, click here.

The Purdue Farmers Market will be moving to the Memorial Mall area starting Thursday, May 3, 2012. Lunches will be served at the Farmers Market this year, so bring your appetite. The Market will be in between Stanley Coulter Hall and Wetherill Chemistry Lab. Entertainment will also be added to this year’s Farmers Market, including but not limited to cooking demonstrations by Chef Ambarish Lulay.


Dr. Cordelia Brown, ENE/ECE, "Integrating Community-Centered Practices in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Learning Environment"; Thursday, 4/19, 3:30pm, Forney G-124

Calendar: 4/16

Spring 2012

  • Mon, April 16: ENEGSA deadline for submitting baby pix.
  • Tues, April 17: ENEGSA fundraiser (location TBA): 10am-4:30pm
  • Thurs, April 19: ENE seminar: Speaker: Dr. Cordelia Brown, "Integrating Community-Centered Practices in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Learning Environment; 3:30pm, Forney G-124
  • Mon/Tues, April 23-24: ENE Industrial Advisory Council (including Graduate Poster display)
  • Thurs, April 26: Diversity Lecture Series: Speaker: Dr. Arthur J. Bond: 2-3pm, Armstrong atrium
  • Thurs/Sat, April 26-28: 2nd P-12 Engineering and Design Education Research

National and Independence Days around the World

  • April 17 - Syria – National Day
  • April 18 – Zimbabwe – National Day

Kudos: 4/16 Matt Ohland on being promoted to Full Professor. He was also named a Fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education. The 2012 induction of ASEE Fellows will take place at ASEE's Annual Awards Banquet in June. Ruth Streveler on being granted tenure and being promoted to Associate Professor. graduate student Sergey Dubikovsky, a faculty member in the College of Technology, on being promoted to Associate Professor. Bill Oakes on being named the 2012 recipient of the American Society for Engineering Education's Chester F. Carlson Award for Innovation in Engineering Education. Bill joins ENE-affiliated recipients Phil Wankat (1990), Leah Jamieson (1997), Karl Smith (2001), and Kamyar Haghighi (2009), as well as Purdue recipients John Lindenlaub (1988), Robert Squires (1995), and Ed Coyle (1997). The award will be bestowed at ASEE's Annual Awards Banquet in June. Matt Ohland and Alice Pawley on the citation of their work in the SWE 2011 Literature Review. INSPIRE graduate student Yi Luo on receiving a Bilsland Dissertation Fellowship and the College of Education's deBruiker Award. Shannel Randle on her promotion from Account Clerk V to Account Assistant for Monthly Payroll in the Armstrong Business Office. UPRISE students Ben Horstman, Aaron Lemcherfi, and Brett Kult on winning awards at the 2012 Purdue Undergraduate Research and Poster Symposium. These students participate in INSPIRE's UPRISE (Undergraduate P-12 Research Internship in STEM, particularly Engineering) Academy. Ben was awarded first place in the Math category by the College of Science for his research poster entitled Model Eliciting Activities: A Teaching Tool to Promote Engineering Thought Processes. Aaron and Brett won the Abstract Award for their work on K-12 Student Attitudes Towards Engineering from the College of Engineering in the Humanities and Social Science category. The students' mentors were Daphne Duncan, Ron Carr, and Johannes Strobel.

To suggest content for future issues of ENE Memo, contact David Radcliffe or Lisa Tally by midday Friday for the following week's issue.