EEE Recognition Night honors 2021 awardees

EEE honored students, faculty, and staff at its 2021 Recognition Night, a virtual ceremony celebrating excellence in teaching, advising, leadership, and academic achievement.

EEE honored students, faculty, and staff at its 2021 Recognition Night, a virtual ceremony celebrating excellence in teaching, advising, leadership, and academic achievement.



Matthew Triebe, Magoon Graduate Teaching Award
The College of Engineering Magoon Awards are given to outstanding teaching assistants and instructors in memory of Estus H. and Vashti L. Magoon.

Rasul Diop, Outstanding Service Scholarship Award
The College of Engineering Outstanding Service Scholarship Award recognizes engineering graduate students who provide outstanding service to the graduate student community, the School, the College, and/or the University.

Christian Ley, Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award
The College of Engineering Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award goes to students who have demonstrated excellence and leadership in research through publications, participation in professional organizations, and willingness to mentor others.

Matthew Gozen, Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Award
Sponsored by the Teaching Academy and the Office of the Provost, the EEE Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Award honors outstanding teaching contributions. Recipients are selected by each academic department for their commitment to undergraduate education.


In 2020, EEE introduced the Wangari Maathai, Gaylord Nelson, and Rachel Carson awards.  These awards recognize the excellence and potential future excellence of students who have demonstrated academic achievement and engaged leadership related to sustainability and the environment in harmony with the mission of EEE. This year's winners are:

Madison Hodges, EEE Wangari Maathai Award (View Madison's award application video)

Hannah Congleton, EEE Gaylord Nelson Award (View Hannah's award application video)

Jessika Wahlbin, EEE Rachel Carson Award (View Jessica's award application video)


Jennifer Ray is a sophomore in EEE. In addition to being an active an engaged student, Jennifer is a member of SEEE, Purdue Student Engineering Foundation, and serves on the Purdue Community Standards Board through the Office of Student Rights and Responsibilities.


Ashely Sanchez Gonzalez is a senior in EEE. She is currently the president of SEEE and is active in Phi Sigma Rho and the Purdue Run Club. She also makes time for undergraduate research with Professor Amish Shah and serves as a peer TA for EEE 350. Ashley interned with Weavers Consultant Group in summer 2020 and Xylem in Summer 2021. EEE is actively involved in the Partners for Pollution Prevention (Partners), an organization comprised of Indiana industries, businesses, nonprofit organizations and governmental entities that are interested in pollution prevention.


This award from The Teaching Academy and Office of Provost honors instructors and professors for employing creativity and innovation to provide safe and productive engagement and support of students during the pandemic. Learn more about these awards here


Purdue University's Bravo Award Program serves to recognize the excellence that exists among employees across the University. Dr. Nadezhda Zyaykina was selected for facilitating the immense undertaking of reopening the laboratory facilities in both Hampton and Potter during the COVID-19 pandemic. Learn more about Nadya and her award here


Each year, undergraduate EEE students vote for a faculty member to receive this award based on their commitment to student success and motivation. “Dr. Blatchley understands students and is dedicated to their education,” says EEE Outstanding Senior Erica Wang. “He goes the extra mile to teach students why course material is important, both inside and outside of the classroom.”


For this award, the College of Engineering asks graduate students in each department to select an outstanding faculty mentor who has gone above and beyond to serve the graduate students in their program. Dr. Hua received this award for her “unwavering commitment students’ academic and professional growth,” according Tim Simon of the EEE Graduate Student Organization. “Dr. Hua exemplifies the quality of a fantastic mentor. She challenges students to think critically, analytically, and creatively, which facilitates an environment conducive to student success." 

Congratulations to all of Purdue EEE’s 2021 Award recipients!