ORNL Distinguished Staff Fellowship Program

Oak Ridge National Laboratory's Distinguished Staff Fellowship program is a highly competitive, prestigious early-career research opportunity. ORNL awards fellowships named for three renowned scientists who made significant contributions to their scientific field and held leadership positions at the laboratory: Liane B. Russell, Alvin M. Weinberg, and Eugene P. Wigner.

ORNL's Distinguished Staff Fellowship program aims to cultivate future scientific leaders by providing dedicated mentors, resources, and enriching research opportunities at a national laboratory. Fellowships are awarded to outstanding early-career scientists and engineers, new to ORNL, who demonstrate success within their academic, professional, and technical areas.

Our Fellows represent a broad range of disciplines and are found in research groups spanning the Laboratory's research missions. A key aspect of this fellowship program is a mentorship plan that is designed to facilitate the successful integration of each DSF into ORNL's scientific community and the alignment of each fellow's research activities with DOE missions. DSFs are expected to establish the foundation for a long-term career at ORNL.

Targeted Research Directions

The candidates must demonstrate their research ability to contribute to one (or more) of ORNL's current major initiatives in science and technology, listed here:

- Discovery and design of new materials and chemical processes for energy
- Scaling computing and data analytics to exascale and beyond
- Science and applications of neutron scattering
- Breakthrough nuclear technologies and systems
- Complexity in biological and environmental systems
- Isotope production and applications
- Development and manufacturing of integrated energy systems
- Science & Technology to address complex security challenges
- Quantum materials and information sciences
- Cyber-physical systems
- Quantitative biology and genome security
- Artificial intelligence and machine learning

Applicants are encouraged to identify which of these initiatives align with their expertise.







www.ornl.gov August 2019

Applicants selected to become DSFs will be named to one of three fellowships, based on their scientific background. The fellowships honor three prominent scientists who held leadership positions at ORNL:



Dr. Eugene P. Wigner, 1963 Nobel Laureate in physics and first director of research and development at ORNL (1946–47), whose vision continues to be reflected in the Laboratory's multidisciplinary programs. Wigner Fellows generally align with the fundamental sciences and demonstrate competency in areas such as advanced materials, chemistry, computational science, neutron scattering, nuclear physics, and plasma and fusion energy sciences.



Dr. Alvin M. Weinberg, the longest serving director of ORNL (1955–1972), a passionate advocate for nuclear energy whose interest in science policy placed him at the intersection of science and technology with society. Weinberg Fellows generally align with the applied, experimental, and computational sciences and demonstrate competency in areas such as chemistry and chemical engineering, radiochemistry, materials science and engineering, nuclear science and engineering, and manufacturing science and engineering.



Dr. Liane B. Russell was a groundbreaking geneticist at ORNL (1947–2002), and in 1973 she was the first woman to receive the internationally awarded Roentgen Medal. She achieved international recognition for her contributions to our understanding of basic mammalian genetics. Russell Fellows are typically in the biological sciences, biomolecular chemistry, computational biology, and environmental and ecosystem sciences.

Qualifications Required

Applicants must have received their PhD in a STEM field before they begin their fellowship and can be no more than 5 years beyond receiving their doctorate when they apply. They cannot be current ORNL employees. Because Fellows serve as ORNL representatives with the US Department of Energy and other research and development sponsors, demonstrated leadership skills are also integral to selection.

Apply at jobs.ornl.gov

The Wigner, Weinberg and Russell Fellowships are jointly posted as the ORNL Distinguished Staff Fellowship Program. The application window is open and the deadline to apply is November 1, 2019. If you have questions, please email ornlfellows@ornl.gov.









