W. Nicholas Delgass

Maxine Spencer Nichols Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering

FRNY 1148
Purdue University
Davidson School of Chemical Engineering
Forney Hall of Chemical Engineering
480 Stadium Mall Drive
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2100
(765) 494-4059 (office)
(765) 494-0805 (fax)
Joined Purdue in 1974
B.S. University of Michigan, 1964
M.S. Stanford University, 1966
Ph.D Stanford University, 1969

Research Group

Graduate Students

  • (No independent research group)
  • Cory Milligan (co-advised with Fabio Ribeiro)
  • Garrett Mitchell (with Fabio Ribeiro and Volkan Ortalan)
  • Taufik Ridha (with Fabio Ribeiro and Rakesh Agrawal)
  • Abhijit Talpade (with Fabio Ribeiro and Rakesh Agrawal)

Awards and Honors

R.N. Shreve Teaching Award, Purdue School of Chemical Engineering, 1983, 1986, 1989,1991, 2000, 2002, and 2007.
Michigan Catalysis Society Giuseppe Parravano Memorial Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research, 1985.
ASEE AT&T Foundation Award, 1990.
Purdue Schools of Engineering Dean A.A. Potter Teaching Award, 1990.
Purdue University Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in memory of Charles B. Murphy, 2003.
Fellow of the Purdue Teaching Academy and entered into the Purdue University Book of Great Teachers, 2003.
Purdue Schools of Engineering Mentoring Excellence Award, 2003; Team Award, 2007.
New York Catalysis Society Excellence in Catalysis Award, 2006.
Inaugural North American Catalysis Society Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Catalysis, 2011.
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) R. H. Wilhelm Award in Chemical Reaction Engineering, 2012.
Elected Fellow of the AIChE, 2013.
Catalysis Club of Chicago Herman Pines Award in Catalysis, 2013.
Honeywell UOP Vladimir Haensel Lecture, 2015
Honorary Chair of the 26th North American Catalysis Society Meeting, 2019.